Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Help and Support (http://www.go4expert.com/community/help-and-support/)
-   -   Connection Timed Out (http://www.go4expert.com/community/connection-timed-out-t18498/)

SaswatPadhi 12Jul2009 14:43

Connection Timed Out
 
Why do I keep getting "Connection Timed Out" error continuously for a couple of days, ONLY on go4expert.com ???

It's really annoying .. :(

I'm using FF, btw.

SaswatPadhi 12Jul2009 19:24

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
Now, is this happening to others too, or am I the only unlucky one here ?? 99% times I get connection timed out error on G4EF (since the last couple of days).

shabbir 12Jul2009 20:10

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
Not for me :D

SaswatPadhi 13Jul2009 16:57

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
:bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry:

WTF ?!? Why do I keep getting this "Connection has timed out" :( :mad:

shabbir 13Jul2009 17:30

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
May be your Internet has some problem. I would suggest you ping go4expert.com

Code:

ping go4expert.com -t
in your command prompt window and see if it works fine all the time or if it breaks as well when you get a connection timeout

SaswatPadhi 13Jul2009 17:56

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
I had already tried that. Worked fine.
So I thought may be I have some problem with my FF. Tried with another PC -- same !!

Then I installed Opera 9.64 and everything is fine now :) :)
I will work with Opera till I find what's wrong with my FF.

But, I really fail to understand, why FF showed the error only on G4EF and NOT on ANY other site ?!?

Anyway ..

shabbir 13Jul2009 19:19

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
May be there is something in your connection or any FF plugins which fetches some Data about G4EF like alexa or something that is causing the delay.

SaswatPadhi 13Jul2009 23:23

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
I also thought that it might be due to some plugin etc.., but as I mentioned in my previous post, "Tried with another PC -- same !!".

Anyway, the problem seems to be gone now !! :) :) :)

Still no clue, why it existed and how it vanished all of a sudden !!! I didn't install/remove any FF plug-ins during the last couple of says. ( I have XP/XP dual boot and I use only one of them for testing FF plugins and things like that. )


Thanx for the time you spared for me, shabbir.

shabbir 14Jul2009 09:20

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
The pleasure is all mine but as we did not see any body else participating in this thread the problem was with you only because last time the problem was with DNS where many of us faced it.

SaswatPadhi 14Jul2009 13:31

Re: Connection Timed Out
 
OK. I think I figured out a solution.

I studied the result of the ping and found :

Code: Result

Pinging go4expert.com [174.133.80.67] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=389ms TTL=54
Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=390ms TTL=54
Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=390ms TTL=54
Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=390ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 174.133.80.67:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 389ms, [B][COLOR="Red"]Maximum = 390ms[/COLOR][/B], [B]Average = 389ms[/B]


So, the average round-trip time is 389 ms.
Then I checked my FF's timeout limit, as I guessed -- it was 300 ms !!!! :eek:

So, there was the problem. (perhaps)
And, now no timeouts any more ! :happy:


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:06.