Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   ASP (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/asp/)
-   -   Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/creating-dynamic-hyperlink-form-input-t18256/)

danielson 30Jun2009 02:22

Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Hey guys,
This is my first question on this forum, so I hope you'll be able to help. I want to place a form on a Sharepoint site. I want to be able to enter a number into that form and have it take me to the following hyperlink:
ttp://server/page/Main.htm?ServerFilter="PRNumber=VARIABLE"
ie:
ttp://server/page/Main.htm?ServerFilter="PRNumber=8786"
or
ttp://server/page/Main.htm?ServerFilter="PRNumber=8121"
Hopefully pretty simple.

danielson 30Jun2009 02:23

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
all those links should say http but the form moderator wouldn't let me submit with too many live links.

SaswatPadhi 30Jun2009 08:25

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Hi danielson,

Welcome to the forum :)

I think this is what you required :

HTML Code:

<head>
<script language="JavaScript">
        function onlyNumbers()
        {
                valid=true;
                var Numbers = '0123456789';
                var Field1 = document.form1.number.value;

                if (Field1 == "")
                {
                        alert ( "Please enter a number.." );
                        valid = false;
                }
                for (i=0; i < Field1.length; i++)
                {
                        if (Numbers.indexOf(Field1.charAt(i),0) == -1)
                        {
                                alert ( "Numbers only !!" );
                                valid = false;
                                break;
                        }
                }
                if (valid)
                {
                        document.location = "http://server/page/Main.htm?ServerFilter=\"PRNumber=" + Field1 + "\"";
                }
        }
</script>

</head>
<body>
<form name="form1">
<br><br>
<center><b>Number:&nbsp; 
<input type="text" name="number">
</b></center>
<br><br><br>
<center>
<input type="button" name="Submit" value="Submit" onclick="onlyNumbers();"> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
<input type="reset" name="Reset" value="Reset"></center>
</body>

This is an example page, which shows a textbox into which the user enters a number and is redirected to the required page on clicking submit.

naimish 30Jun2009 08:27

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Hey, tried it out with my code, good one..... :)

SaswatPadhi 30Jun2009 08:29

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by naimish (Post 50756)
Hey, tried it out with my code, good one..... :)

Thanx :)

naimish 30Jun2009 08:31

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Welcome :) How to insert this smilyes ?

SaswatPadhi 30Jun2009 08:37

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
When you are posting replies, click "Go Advanced". You will see a lot of smileys :)

naimish 30Jun2009 08:39

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
:crazy:

Cool, nice one, again, Thanks for this :pleased:

danielson 30Jun2009 22:06

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Cool, but there is one problem. It only works sometimes. For instance, I placed the HTML code on my desktop and saved the text as .htm-

Open the file in IE and click to accept blocked content. Then I entered a number. Sometimes it works and goes to the document.location url.. but sometimes it just goes to:
ile:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/bomgardd/Desktop/pr.htm?number=32155

working:
ttp://server/page/Main.htm?ServerFilter="PRNumber=98656"

danielson 1Jul2009 00:18

Re: Creating dynamic hyperlink from form input
 
Well, I disabled the mcafee scriptproxy addon in IE. This script then worked like a charm.
I will try to provide some input on the final fix if I decide to mess with this proxy.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:09.