Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   MySQL (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/mysql-forum/)
-   -   data is not being update (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/data-update-t1796/)

zeal 3Nov2006 12:42

data is not being update
 
when insert data in the GUI which is connected with mysql from php..
it is not being updated, meanzz when i open the page insert.php and insert the required data like..

Heading :- hello world
Description:- text

but when i submit, the data is not inserted in database. but database do update..

but when i insert only

Heading: Hello World
Description : <<nil>>

Bingoo! also database is updated...and heading do insert in it.

help me what is the problem behind this..

pradeep 3Nov2006 16:55

Re: data is not being update
 
Please post the source code, so that I can look for the bug.

zeal 3Nov2006 19:35

Re: data is not being update
 
add.php
Code:

<?
<html>

<head>
<style>
  <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../misc/css1.css">
</style>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>International Cricket News</title>
</head>
<script language="JavaScript">
                function validateForm(objForm)
                {
                        if (objForm.nhead.value == '')
                        {
                                alert('Please Enter A News Heading!!!');
                                objForm.nhead.focus();
                                return false;
                        }
                        else
                        return true;
                }       
</script>
<body>
<hr>
        <font face=arial size=4>
                <b> News</b><br>
                <br>
</font>
<form action="insertnews.php" method="post" onSubmit='return validateForm(this);'>
<table border="0" width="100%">
  <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">Heading<sup><font color=red>*</font></sup></td>
    <td width="83%"><input type="text" name="nhead" size="100" maxlength=255 class="input_ns"></td>
  </tr>
    <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">News Message</td>
    <td width="83%"><textarea name="nmsg" cols="100" rows="10" class="input_ns"></textarea></td>
  </tr>
  <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">ScortBord Link<sup><font color=red>*</font></sup></td>
    <td width="83%"><input type="text" name="score" size="30" maxlength=255 class="input_ns"></td>
  </tr>
  <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">Live Match Link<sup><font color=red>*</font></sup></td>
    <td width="83%"><input type="text" name="lmatch" size="30" maxlength=255 class="input_ns"></td>
  </tr>
  <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">Rating Link<sup><font color=red>*</font></sup></td>
    <td width="83%"><input type="text" name="rlink" size="30" maxlength=255 class="input_ns"></td>
  </tr>
  <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">Other Link Title<sup><font color=red>*</font></sup></td>
    <td width="83%"><input type="text" name="olinktit" size="20" maxlength="255" class="input_ns"></td>
  </tr>
  <tr class="smallfontblack">
    <td width="17%">Other Link URL<sup><font color=red>*</font></sup></td>
    <td width="83%"><input type="text" name="olinkurl" size="30" maxlength=255 class="input_ns"></td>
  </tr>

  <tr>
    <td width="17%"><input type="submit" value="Save" name="submit" class="input_ns">
      <p></td>
    <td width="83%"></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td width="17%"></td>
    <td width="83%"></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td width="17%"></td>
    <td width="83%">&nbsp;</td>
  </tr>
</table>
<p>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>
</form>
</body>

</html>

insert.php
Code:

<?

        // opening connection and seting for errors
        include "../lib/lib.php";
        //error_reporting(5);
        $ctname=getPost("nhead");       
        $count=getPost("nmsg");
        $slink=getPost("score");
        $livematch=getPost("lmatch");
        $slink=getPost("score");       
        $rlink=getPost("rlink");
        $olinktit=getPost("olinktit");
        $olinkurl=getPost("olinkurl");       
        $strQuery="insert into news(nheading,ndetail,ndate,scorebord,livematch,ratting,olinktitle,olinkurl)
        values('$ctname','$count',sysdate(),'$slink','$livematch','$rlink',
        '$olinktit','$olinkurl')";
        Update($strQuery);
        header("Location:view_news.php");
?>

the problem is in description of news, in mysql database i have kept the data type of "nmsg" is "TEXT"

pradeep 4Nov2006 10:39

Re: data is not being update
 
The looks pretty simple, there seems to be no problem at all. TEXT type allows 65535 characters, so that shouldn't be a problem.
Try to debug the SQL query by printing it out, and check for any syntactical errors.

zeal 4Nov2006 12:30

Re: data is not being update
 
you right! but i am still face problem......actually there is no error outcome.

some time if i add heading, and let say i add only one line it do take and save it in database...

zeal 4Nov2006 12:35

Re: data is not being update
 
e.g

in description i am try to add

Player of the Year Award
Ricky Ponting (Australia)

Test Player of the Year Award
Ricky Ponting (Australia)

ODI Player of the Year
Michael Hussey (Australia)


but when i add the same...but add more in it it do not insert

Player of the Year Award
Ricky Ponting (Australia)

Test Player of the Year Award
Ricky Ponting (Australia)

ODI Player of the Year
Michael Hussey (Australia)

Women's Player of the Year
Karen Rolton (Australia)


i noted that when i remove the (single quote) after the women's i do insert...

what is this problem i dont think this might be an error..

shabbir 6Nov2006 10:31

Re: data is not being update
 
' holds a special meaning in the SQL of end of string and so is the problem.

zeal 6Nov2006 11:57

Re: data is not being update
 
oky fine but this problem didnt occur before two month ago...it used to word accurately


any how thanks for your help...

shabbir 6Nov2006 12:44

Re: data is not being update
 
Probably becauase either you did not had ' in the data you were inserting or had the delimiter backslash for it.

zeal 6Nov2006 13:09

Re: data is not being update
 
well i need to know that solution of this problem...




correction in last post

oky fine but this problem didnt occur before two month ago...it used to work accurately


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:11.