Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   C++ (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/cpp/)
-   -   Voltage in C++ code...? (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/voltage-cpp-code-t16656/)

brains89 25Mar2009 10:04

Voltage in C++ code...?
 
Here is my problem: I have to use a voltage source that supplies a load through a resistor. The voltage source has a rating of 1000 volts and a power rating
of 10000 watts. The resistor is 5 ohms with a power ratings
of 118.975 watts. The resistance of the load may vary
randomly between 200 and 600 ohms. Using 100000 samples
calculate the number of times the power rating of the resistor is exceeded, average power delivered by source, maximum power delivered by source, and the minimum power delivered by source.

The output of the program should consist of 4 numbers,
each number being output on a separate line in the order
listed above. The numbers should be output with a precision
of 2.

I hoping that someone can help me out and explain to me what i need to do.

xpi0t0s 25Mar2009 15:10

Re: Voltage in C++ code...?
 
Which bit are you stuck on - the electronic theory that you have to implement in code, or the code itself?

Supposing you were to do this manually (let's say there are 10 samples rather than 100000). How would you go about it?

xpi0t0s 25Mar2009 15:12

Re: Voltage in C++ code...?
 
For sake of argument let's say that the resistance varies pseudo-sinusoidally something like 400, 500, 600, 500, 400, 300, 200, 300, 400, 500. What results would you get?


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:47.