Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Database (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/database-forum/)
-   -   apoligies if this query in wrong section ..... (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/apoligies-query-wrong-section-t16168/)

steve0071972 13Feb2009 05:22

apoligies if this query in wrong section .....
 
Hi, if this query is in the wrong section I do apologise. My query is this, I have written a database for an small company involving personal records. The database consists of the normal tables (first name, surname, contact details, phone number, email address, work number, department etc...). Now when I search the surname smith (for example) 5 smith records are displayed on the same screen, which means I have to scroll down to view them all. Is there a way that one record could be displayed at a time, then you press a button which will then display the next record and so on until all the smith have been displayed on the same screen without scrolling down. Hope you all understand what I mean. Thanks in advance

shabbir 13Feb2009 08:58

Re: apoligies if this query in wrong section .....
 
Which Database you are using.

LIMIT 1 can be an option.

steve0071972 13Feb2009 12:52

mysql .....
 
I'm using a mysql database with php, html & css files

shabbir 13Feb2009 14:35

Re: apoligies if this query in wrong section .....
 
Use LIMIT 1 and that would only give you one record.

steve0071972 13Feb2009 15:40

Re: apoligies if this query in wrong section .....
 
I'm not quite sure where to insert limit 1 yet but I'll work on that, so it's as simple as that, by inserting limit 1 it will display one record at a time and go to the next record when I click on a button. Knowledge certainly is power cheers mate I'll try that this afternoon


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:03.