Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Web Hosting (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/web-hosting-talk/)
-   -   Hosting your site from your own home server? (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/hosting-site-home-server-t152/)

libervisco 27Aug2004 00:39

Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
Hello.

I am wondering, does anyone of you host your site or sites from your own home server? If yes, how does it goes? How do you maintain it and ensure that it's 100% or 99% online. How do you manage power outages and similar troubles? And what are is your conection to the net for it?
Additionally, does anyone has a hosting service offering space from your own home servers?

Thanks
Daniel

shabbir 27Aug2004 07:41

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
Quote:

I am wondering, does anyone of you host your site or sites from your own home server?
Not Me at least.
Quote:

If yes, how does it goes? How do you maintain it and ensure that it's 100% or 99% online. How do you manage power outages and similar troubles? And what are is your conection to the net for it?
Apart from Web Hosting providers no one can afford to maintain this at home. Just My opinion. You can get very cheaply a dedicated machine from www.rackspace.com [best] and other service provider and also some shared hosting are nearly so cheap and easy to use that nowadays no one thinks of using it.

Yes I know people who use to provides hosting from there office rather than home but has switched to dedicated hosting providers because the total money spent on high speed internet connection and electricity bill total was much higher than the total charged by even the best dedicated web host and he could not get the speed that they provided.

Thanks
Shabbir Bhimani

libervisco 27Aug2004 08:55

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
I see..

Well, i'd definitely consider buying dedicated hosting once my site or sites grows that big :)

Daniel

shabbir 27Aug2004 09:35

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
Quote:

Well, i'd definitely consider buying dedicated hosting once my site or sites grows that big
Well I dont have any similar plans for this single site but when I have more than 2 will definitely consider going in that direction.

Thanks
Shabbir Bhimani

a1domainhosting.com 14May2005 15:56

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
HI You all can try A1domainhosting.com for all your hosting.

We have free domain reseller programs and hosting starts from $2/mo for 10mb.

We can give you 20Gb reseller pack for only Rs4000

You can have dedicated server (self managed/ fully managed by us) only for $100/mo onwards
and many more to come.


Thanks
Dharmendra Ajwani
<<Confine links to signatures only>>
sales at a1domainhosting.com

topsites 18Jun2005 18:39

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by libervisco
I see..

Well, i'd definitely consider buying dedicated hosting once my site or sites grows that big :)

Daniel

Well keep in mind any site gets over 250,000 hits/month will need a dedi, despite whatever virtual hosts claim once you get over 250k/month you will start crashing virtual servers. Should you decide to host entire CD-Roms worth of content, then you will likely also need a dedi.

Most sites get 5-10k, maybe 50k hits/month. Most sites never reach 100k but if you do, you're in the top 10% of the Web. So definitely I would wait with the dedi until you get at least 200k hits/month.

topsites 18Jun2005 18:54

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by libervisco
Hello.

I am wondering, does anyone of you host your site or sites from your own home server? If yes, how does it goes? How do you maintain it and ensure that it's 100% or 99% online. How do you manage power outages and similar troubles? And what are is your conection to the net for it?
Additionally, does anyone has a hosting service offering space from your own home servers?

Thanks
Daniel

It is against the rules of most ISP's to run a dedicated Web server on their leased network lines UNLESS you lease a dedicated network line such as a T-1 or OC-12 or whatever then it shouldn't matter. Yes it is definitely against the rules of Cable providers to host a Webserver on their lines, and using a dial-up account is not enough but also against the rules.

Assuming that was not the case (well I dno), I host my own site BUT I actually lease a dedicated server out of Houston, TX so the site does not reside on my home pc. But it is a dedi, thus it is my own server (not true because it is leased thus it belongs to another co., but every other admin in the world leases a dedi calls it their own so now I do it too). So then that is another way people are making you THINK they're hosting a site on their 'own' pc when in reality that is not the case.

But if you have the bandwidth and you really want to put it on your home pc then what you need next is an OS and a Web Server (http:// server + admin) programs. You can use Windows or Unix, for Windows I think you're basically setup but you need the server + admin and this usually costs money but there may be Open source, dno. For Unix there are many OS's like Redhat, Debian, Suse, etc, and a lot of is free and then you also still need the administration proggie thou I might recommend Webmin as it is free:
http://www.webmin.com/

So like you might go with a flavor of Redhat + Apache + Webmin
Redhat - OS
Apache - http:// server
Webmin - admin

That is so basically you need an OS and the http: server and then the web-based interface for system administration and you're ready to host your own service. MOST people who host sites on their 'own' computer actually lease a dedicated server and then rent out the unused portion as virtual hosting accounts which helps pay for the server.
For reasonably priced dediservers you might check with ev1servers.net

Peace out,
Pascal, mgr.
Awards and Topsites portal

hanleyhansen 27Jun2008 22:29

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
Can anybody explain in detail how webmin works because I know nothing about it? I know its browser based administration but how do I get it up and running on an openSuSE 11 (or 10.3) system.

dbbrock1 26Aug2008 03:57

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
I dont suggest doing it. Its definitely possible, but you will be so underpowered. Not only that, but the additional power cost of keeping your computer on 24/7 will cost almost as much as a cheap dedicated server would.

Lopez 22Jan2009 13:26

Re: Hosting your site from your own home server?
 
You need to do port forwarding on your DSL router.
Also I am assuming that you do not hand out DHCP addresses to your web server. Ensure that it always gets the same IP, if you do or better set a static IP for the webserver.

That should work. If it doesn't pls let me know.

----------------------------------------


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:08.