Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Ethical hacking Tips (http://www.go4expert.com/articles/ethical-hacking-tutorials/)
-   -   Be ADMIN in Vista (http://www.go4expert.com/articles/admin-vista-t15063/)

Bhullarz 9Nov2008 03:10

Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Hi all ! Who so ever has used Vista must be annoyed of some dialogs asking for permissions whenever installing/un-installing softwares or deleting some files from windows drive.

Here are the 2 solutions for you to avoid such problems:
1. Disable UAC(User Account Control)
2. Use Administrator Account

1. Disable UAC - To disable UAC, Follow the path
Control Panel ->User Accounts -> UAC On or Off
Just select Off and restart your system. Now on, you won't get any problems.

2. Use Administrator A/C : Do you know that Vista has too a hidden administrator a/c like Windows XP? You can activate it in a very simple way.
Just follow the path:
start->All Programs->Accessories->Command Prompt ( Right Click on Command Prompt and select Run as Administrator)

Command Prompt window will be open. Now use the following command to ENABLE the ADMINISTRATOR Account.
Code:

net user administrator /active:yes
You will get a message regarding successful execution of the command. Now just logoff, and check you will be having an administrator account available to log in.

To disable the administrator a/c, use the following command:
Code:

net user administrator /active:no

neo_vi 11Nov2008 15:35

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Microsoft enabled this type of annoying things just to minimize the virus programs running in the OS. So if u re very much annoyed about those dialogs u can do it, r if u re concerned about the virus don't follow this.

Bhullarz 11Nov2008 19:32

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by neo_vi (Post 38772)
Microsoft enabled this type of annoying things just to minimize the virus programs running in the OS. So if u re very much annoyed about those dialogs u can do it, r if u re concerned about the virus don't follow this.

I think FOR HANDLING VIRUSES, YOU SHOULD PREFER ANTI-VIRUS or INTERNET SECURITY. KASPERSKY or AVIRA is a good option. Isn't it NEO_VI ?


Rest I think NEO_VI may be correct to somewhat but I always think that Now a days Microsoft is trying to copy of Linux OS's security policy coz Latest Linux DISTROs don't allow its users to log in as ROOT(same as ADMIN in Windows) because of security (system and internet both). Same thing they have tried to implement in VISTA.

But if you have observed for a normal user, while installations, very few give passwords for ADMINISTRATOR login, in the end of the installation, WINDOWS another USER ID and ask you every time to log in using that password only. If you set up a password for your account only, still ADMINISTRATOR account is password-less. Sometimes it may be risky.

so in that case you can go for DISABLING ADMINISTRATOR ACCOUNT by using above mentioned command in WINDOWS XP and VISTA too.

neo_vi 12Nov2008 10:34

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bhullarz (Post 38777)
I think FOR HANDLING VIRUSES, YOU SHOULD PREFER ANTI-VIRUS or INTERNET SECURITY. KASPERSKY or AVIRA is a good option. Isn't it NEO_VI ?

Its just for an extra protection. Its even in XP. always it'll asks a warning "Run these type of programs". Microsoft decided to embed a antivirus like program into its OS, so only they put these type of warnings.

Quote:

But if you have observed for a normal user, while installations, very few give passwords for ADMINISTRATOR login, in the end of the installation, WINDOWS another USER ID and ask you every time to log in using that password only. If you set up a password for your account only, still ADMINISTRATOR account is password-less. Sometimes it may be risky.
This is not correct. During the installation of XP it asks us to set the password for administrator account too. May be u would have downloaded some OS in the net which will be packed with TROJAN, which would have disabled the password request window during the installation.
;)

Bhullarz 12Nov2008 19:28

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by neo_vi (Post 38824)
Its just for an extra protection. Its even in XP. always it'll asks a warning "Run these type of programs". Microsoft decided to embed a antivirus like program into its OS, so only they put these type of warnings.

This is not correct. During the installation of XP it asks us to set the password for administrator account too. May be u would have downloaded some OS in the net which will be packed with TROJAN, which would have disabled the password request window during the installation.
;)

I am saying the same thing Bro! Just read again what I wrote. I am saying that Very Few People give passwords for Administrator Account. If you have purchased a new PC and OS is pre-installed, your administrator account won't be having any password. Our Institute just bought HP systems with Windows XP SP2C, and none of them was password protected.

So, its just an advice or trick who don't want some annoying things and love to customize the OS. Moreover PROGRAMMERs usually hate restrictions. This is the reason VISTA is not getting very popular among the programmers' world.

shabbir 4Dec2008 14:47

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Nominated for article of the month for November 2008

TriG0rZ 4Dec2008 16:24

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Thanks for the tip i ususally get annoyed with that prompt by windows but not anymore :)

happyz 8Dec2008 23:35

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
cool man will try in vista and i get annoyed with all those prompts
Thanks mate

raghav 16Dec2008 01:23

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
Thanks for this, it has helped in such things like - Emulators, and other non-playable games....
All i had to do is be the admin....cool
Thanks.

lee1 10Nov2009 01:01

Re: Be ADMIN in Vista
 
hi i tried this but could run admin account access denied


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:02.