Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Meet and Greet (http://www.go4expert.com/community/meet-and-greet/)
-   -   is it possible reading an exe (http://www.go4expert.com/community/reading-exe-t14477/)

bhavanaindia 10Oct2008 14:03

is it possible reading an exe
 
Hi friends.
I had been searching the net for last many days but diid not get any idea about "can we read out an exe?"
My problem is :

I have an exe which is like a form.It takes an input number and generates 2 output numbers. which are displayed on the form.
the numbsers are regenerated after every 30 seconds.
I want to get these number out of the exe ,and store in some variable.

If any body suggest any solution, please tell the API also.
I want to do it on windows using c++.
(any other language may also work but paltform is windows).

NOTE: we dont have the code of the exe.

shabbir 10Oct2008 14:10

Re: is it possible reading an exe
 
You can change the resource but not the business logic. Search the forum for Change Icon of an exe file

neo_vi 10Oct2008 14:26

Re: is it possible reading an exe
 
S. u can do it. Get a good disassembler so that u can see where it stores the number

bhavanaindia 13Oct2008 14:04

Re: is it possible reading an exe
 
Hi Shabbir,
thanks for the link.

I have one more problem, hope u will help me

1. By only seeing the exe how would I search for the resources ? should I saerch for every possible resource which I need to acccess and which are whizible in the exe ?

2.Suppose I get the handle of the dialogue box, now how will I get the handle of the resources which are inside this dialogue box. e.g button, text box etc, check box , menu bar etc?
can u suggest some APIs as I have never used windpws SDK before.

neo_vi 13Oct2008 14:07

Re: is it possible reading an exe
 
use "reshack" or if u want to get the handle "PE explorer" will sound better.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:57.