1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

_WIN32_WINNT undefined

Discussion in 'C' started by ever_thus, Jan 3, 2007.

  1. ever_thus

    ever_thus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm starting out with Visual Studio 2005. I have an application that worked fine with the Borland bcc32 compiler, but when I compile with VS I get several errors telling me that this or that constant is undefined.

    Checking the header files I found that these constants are conditionally defined depending on the value of _WIN32_WINNT. A simple test program compiles under bcc32 and VS tells me that _WIN32_WINNT is defined as 0x501 under bcc32 and undefined under VS.

    I'm running Windows XP, so I assume _WIN32_WINNT should be defined to the right value. How do I make sure this is so. I could explicitly define it in my code, but this ought not be necessary.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. DaWei

    DaWei New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Semi-retired EE
    Location:
    Texan now in Central NY
    Home Page:
    Have a look here. Perhaps bcc presumes too much.
     
  3. ever_thus

    ever_thus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. Adding the option works. Is there any way I can tell VS to do this for all projects unless I specify otherwise.
     
  4. DaWei

    DaWei New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Semi-retired EE
    Location:
    Texan now in Central NY
    Home Page:
    Have you consulted the help files? Read your documentation? I would suggest that developing personal initiative and resourcefulness is as valuable as learning a new language. Strictly personal opinion, of course.
     
  5. ever_thus

    ever_thus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actuallly I did. And googled it. Everyone tells me to set the CL environment variable, whic I did. However I still don't see this option defined when I check the properies windows. Am I setting it in the wrong place.
     

Share This Page