Video transcoding using codecs and interfacing them with your software

Discussion in 'C' started by uengin, Mar 2, 2010.

1. uengin

uengin New Member

I am a last year electronic engineering student. I have had some programming experience but not a whole heap. I am very practical, so I learn by examples very well.

I am in a project in a company where I need to implement transcoding from one format to another. Now, so far, I am under the impression that I get the relative codecs, and use them to decode and re-encode reading from the file or stream.

As I said I haven't had much experience and I am very practical so I lean by doing and examples, so from my research so far I have not been able to understand how I use a binary library file (I am working in linux btw) and interface my code with the binary library. I believe this is where API's come in right? Am I going in the right direction? Can anyone direct me to resourses, tutorials, examples or explanations for this application? Or can you give me semi-detailed explanation of how this might be done? :confused

Thank you so much in advance. Really appreciate it.

2. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer
    A library implements an API. For example printf() is part of the file I/O API, and it is implemented by the C runtime library. Similarly sin cos tan are part of the math API, and are implemented by libm.a. So this has two implications for your application: (1) your code must #include the relevant header file (which defines the API) and (2) your executable must be linked with the relevant library.

Code:
    #include <math.h>
    #include <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
      double x=30;
      double sinx=sin(x);
      printf("sin of %e is %e\n",x,sinx);
      return 0;
    }

gcc -c test.c -o test.o   // compile test.c to object
    gcc test.o libm.a -o test    // link test.o and libm.a together to make test executable

or in one step
    gcc test.c -lm -o test