1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Variable changing value when control goes to MAIN

Discussion in 'C' started by Sabur, Jan 22, 2009.

1. Sabur

Sabur New Member

Dec 25, 2008
    Okay, here's my first post. I am originally a Fortran programmer and have legacy code that I'm working with but it is necessary to use and modify a C code (which I did not originally write) to read data from a file in a proprietary format and then transfer that data to the Fortran code.

I am a C/C++ Newbie and this question I'm posing should be totally on the C/C++ side of things.

I have posted the relevant code below (in C, not C++) and have used Word to add line numbers to make it easier to refer to lines. I hope I'm not breaking any rules by doing this. If so let me know. I've also highlighted in red relevent lines and variable names.

I am trying to acquire the value of "numChannels" in line 72 by "assigning" it to "numchn" in line 73. This is all done in the "Helper Functions", outside of MAIN. I have declared "numchn" in line 34 as "extern int numchn;". This is done ahead of MAIN and as I understand it, this should make it global.

When I use the debugger (Visual Studio 2005) everything is fine; "numchn" shows up in the debugger as "325" which is what it should be. However, when control is returned to Main (lines 35 to 46), "numchn" becomes a 9 digit nonsense integer and this is what is passed to Fortran.

This nonsense integer shows up on the Fortran side so I don't think I have a pointer/address/value problem (originally "brainwashed" on Fortran, this pointer stuff is hard to get used to; and I'm sure the reverse is true in some analogous way :) ).

How do I get a variable to retain it's value when control is returned to MAIN?