1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

User Local machine Identity

Discussion in 'PHP' started by PradeepKr, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. PradeepKr

    PradeepKr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    Is it possible to get a User's Local machine identity?
    If I want to dig out which user has access my online application, I need to grab his/her machine's identity (I dont want ISP's address which is there in $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']). An ISP can be shared by many users. I want to fine tune to specific user who accessed my application.
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    IP and Cookie combination is your best option
     
  3. PradeepKr

    PradeepKr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    1. IP we get is of ISPs IP I guess, isnt it?
    2. A cookie would return only what my application would set on the local machine, isn't it? How would I get some which I dont set?
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You want to uniquely identify user with his machine identity and so if you can place cookie to read he is unique. Let me know if you are trying something else.
     
  5. PradeepKr

    PradeepKr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    Let me give some more insight.
    I am creating a hotel booking service website. I want to capture as much info as possible about the user and his machine. If he messes around with the booking system (involving payment system also) then I might blacklist him.
    A user can be identified by login id /password but only when he/she is logged in.
    I have an option of allowing somebody using this service(hotel booking etc) with even logging in ie as anonymous. In this there would be possibilities of hack attempts and all. Here, I want to capture user's machine's identity.
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I think you are thinking too much. Payment systems hacking can be prevented by the payment processing system only and if you want to black list cookies+ip is your best choice if you allow anonymous buying of your product
     
  7. pein87

    pein87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Dev
    Location:
    Limbo
    if you want ISP use this

    PHP:
    $ip $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];

    $isp gethostbyaddr($ip);

    echo 
    $isp;
    cookie + ip is the way to go I dont think php can get the remote machines name. You may want to do a check to see if the ip is a proxy then a conversion to change it back to its original IP then black list that. It would only black list those who use that IP not anyone from that ISP, ISP is the service provider of your net and your ip is your unique ID for your connection while on the net.
     
  8. PradeepKr

    PradeepKr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    I have seen that my ISP keeps changing my IP sometimes.
     
  9. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You are lucky it changes sometime and mine changes all the time.
     
  10. ManzZup

    ManzZup New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Production Manager:Software @ ZONTEK
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Home Page:
    use google analytics the best probably
    and php cannot get internal stuff its server side
    you JS instead but you can hardly get the computer name
    still says google analytics worth trying
     
  11. PradeepKr

    PradeepKr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    Thanks for the suggestion but where exactly in Google analytics? Any link or tuturial would be good.
     
  12. ManzZup

    ManzZup New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Production Manager:Software @ ZONTEK
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Home Page:
    google.com/analytics

    its google after all google it :D
     

Share This Page