!!Urgent,Need Help and Info!!

ramon_epik's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2009
Light Poster
......Here goes...i have been downloading Op Systems (Vista,Xp SP2,SP3) off the internet from various torrent sites,they are fully functional however my issue is when i burn them on DvDs they don't boot from start up....i don't know what im missing or what i didn't do correctly on burning these Op Systems,Pls Help...I've tried setting boot settings DVD-Rom at 1st boot...however it still goes pass boot from DVD/Cd...or that doesn't show at all.....
0
cpulocksmith's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2008
Skilled contributor
this my be a stupid sugestion but the first thing that comes to mind is, are then iso format? or are you just burning the files to a disk?
0
ramon_epik's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2009
Light Poster
Yea...i tried both, burning files to a disk (data disk) and also ISO.....by using Power ISO.....its very odd..
0
indiansword's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2008
Security Expert
u may have to "Press ANy key to continue" to boot from the disk, assuming that the first boot device is ur cd/dvd rom.
0
ramon_epik's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2009
Light Poster
I prayed to see that pop-up after BIOS gets off the screen indiansword but unfortunately it never comes up even when CD/DVD ROM is the 1st boot device.....????
0
indiansword's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2008
Security Expert
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramon_epik View Post
I prayed to see that pop-up after BIOS gets off the screen indiansword but unfortunately it never comes up even when CD/DVD ROM is the 1st boot device.....????
It looks a little tricky.
may be an issue with the dvd / cd itself, or with the dvd rom, u can try an isolation. I mean,

try that disk on different computer and see if it works. Try some other disk in your computer and see if that works, to find out the root cause.
0
ramon_epik's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2009
Light Poster
Ok i'll be trying that...but i'll let u knw the outcome,Thankz.....
0
nimesh's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2009
Invasive contributor
Does the ISO File contain the Boot Loader to enable loading of CD/DVD at boot.

You may find it in the Power ISO.
0
ramon_epik's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2009
Light Poster
Quote:
Originally Posted by nimesh View Post
Does the ISO File contain the Boot Loader to enable loading of CD/DVD at boot.

You may find it in the Power ISO.

Im not quite sure if it does have the boot loader,how would i locate that if you dont mind me asking??
0
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
Your DVD writing software will have a setting to make a disk bootable. If you don't know how, look through the menus, RTFM, Google it etc; it may even be that you need to use some other software if Power ISO doesn't have that ability (Nero's pretty good).

BUT...if the ISO isn't bootable then you're stuffed. An ISO is just a disk image so you will need to get a bootable ISO file or find out some way of modifying an ISO to make it bootable.

When you wrote the ISO to the disk did you write it as a file or as a disk image? To find out, pop the disk in the drive and open it with Explorer. If you see the ISO file then you wrote it as a file (wrong!), but if you see the ISO file contents then you correctly wrote it as an image. If you write a bootable disk with the ISO file then that won't work.