1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking input

Discussion in 'C#' started by maher, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. maher

    maher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HEY im trying to take input from textbox and then i want to run a query in query in want to search that value
    suppose my textbox name is txtInput.text
    n query which i want to run


    Code:
    string connectionString = "Data Source =USER-PC\\SQLEXPRESS1;Initial Catalog=inFlowInventory; Integrated Security=SSPI";
                using (SqlConnection testConnection = new SqlConnection(connectionString))
                {
                    SqlCommand testCommand =
                        [B][COLOR="Red"]new SqlCommand("SELECT customer FROM Customer where customer =txtInput.Text", testConnection);[/COLOR][/B]
                    
                    testConnection.Open();
                    SqlDataReader sqlDr =testCommand.ExecuteReader(CommandBehavior.CloseConnection);
                    if (sqlDr.HasRows)
                    {
                        foreach (DbDataRecord rec in sqlDr)
                        {
                            dbRecordHolder.Add(rec);
                           
                        }
                    }
                    CustomerNameGrid.DataSource = dbRecordHolder;
                  }
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 24, 2010
  2. maher

    maher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol
    wat happn no1 knw dat?? :P
     
  3. dotNet Zombie

    dotNet Zombie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    .Net Developers
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Home Page:
    LOL actually the .Net Zombie was busy with work.
    Try setting up Parameters like this..
    Code:
     SqlCommand testCommand =new SqlCommand("SELECT customer FROM Customer where customer =@testCust", testConnection);
    
    testCommand.Parameters.AddWithValue("@testCust",txtInput.Text);
    
    
     
  4. maher

    maher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can u tel me 1 more thng i want to use Datagrid view as a Input of data n use of some qurey
    supose table column are item, descrptn, price, quantity
    i want to add 1 more Column which wil do da calculation lyke Total column which wrk iz to calculate da value in Run Tyme price*quantity as Total
    how can i perform that during insert query tyme
     
  5. dotNet Zombie

    dotNet Zombie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    .Net Developers
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Home Page:
    Code:
    gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Calc"].Value=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Price"].Value)*Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Quantity"].Value);
    to make the calculation on the grid itself, the rowIndex is the variable i made up to represent the selectedIndex of the row. (CurrentRow.Index)

    then during query time you can add gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Calc"].Value as a parameters.

    or you can

    Code:
    int Price=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Price"].Value)
    int Quality=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Quantity"].Value);
    and add the parameter like this

    Code:
    
    SQLCommand insertCommand=new SqlCommand("INSERT INTO tblTable(Total) VALUES(@Total)",sqlConn);
    insertCommand.Paramaters.AddWithValue("@Total",Price*Quality);
     
  6. maher

    maher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry em nt dat much expert can u do it easily or gve me complete codding if u can :(
     
  7. maher

    maher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thr is error showing in rowIndex
     
  8. dotNet Zombie

    dotNet Zombie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    .Net Developers
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Home Page:
    rowIndex is a local variable which stores the GridView Controls property CurrentRow.Index.


    *sorry for taking a while to respond, have been busy*
     
    shabbir likes this.
  9. maher

    maher New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thnx but can u merge awl thg
    n can u do it awl combine wid example
     
  10. dotNet Zombie

    dotNet Zombie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    .Net Developers
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Home Page:
    Code:
    int rowIndex=gridView.CurrentRow.Index;
    int Price=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Price"].Value)
    int Quality=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Quantity"].Value);
    
    SQLCommand insertCommand=new SqlCommand("INSERT INTO tblTable(Total) VALUES(@Total)",sqlConn);
    insertCommand.Paramaters.AddWithValue("@Total",Price*Quality);
    
    insertCommand.Conn.Open();
    insertCommand.ExecuteNonReader();
    insertCommand.Conn.Close();
    
     
    shabbir and maher like this.

Share This Page