1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switching off Apache and using IIS

Discussion in 'ASP' started by arpit.jh001, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. arpit.jh001

    arpit.jh001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently learning Asp and for that I need to install IIS server...but I already have Apache HTTP Server 2.2 installed in my computer.....how can I stop Apache Service and use IIS...Kindly help:confused:
     
  2. Scripting

    Scripting John Hoder

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    School for life
    Location:
    /root
    Apache is Linux, and IIS is windows powered, don't you think?
     
  3. arpit.jh001

    arpit.jh001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apache is for both windows as well as for Linux platform..........plz post reply if you know about the subject:crazy:
     
  4. Scripting

    Scripting John Hoder

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    School for life
    Location:
    /root
  5. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If you have installed Apache using XAMPP then you can start the xampp control panel to stop Apache or else you can visit the Windows services and find the Apache service and stop it.
     
  6. arpit.jh001

    arpit.jh001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @shabbir : First I installed Apache without using XAMPP...then because I want to use ASP.NET I uninstalled it and then reinstalled it using XAMPP...I even changed the port from 80 to 1025...then also when I installed IIS server (port 80) ...then also it is not working....
     
  7. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Try installing IIS and then install Apache and see if it works because once the server service is stopped there is no way for IIS to know that Apache is handling port 80 requests.
     
    arpit.jh001 likes this.
  8. arpit.jh001

    arpit.jh001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks ...it works
     

Share This Page