1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sum of table rows will appear in a textfield

Discussion in 'PHP' started by newphpcoder, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. newphpcoder

    newphpcoder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Programmer
    Location:
    Philippines
    Good day!
    I have a problem in adding codes in my php codes, but i have the concept of codes that i want to add in my php codes, but I don't know if it is right. Kindly check my codes thank you.
    I attached my whole codes for better understanding
    and here is the codes I want to add:
    Code:
    <?php
      if($_POST["clt_no"])
        {
        $query = "SELECT * FROM clt_transact WHERE  clt_no = '" . $_POST . "'";
        $result_no = mysql_query($query);
            if($result_no)
                {
                if(mysql_num_rows($result_no) > 0 )
                $operation2_input = 0;
                
                $query = "SELECT SUM(t.input_qty) AS operation_input FROM clt_traceability t, clt_transact p WHERE t.clt_transact_id = p.clt_transact_id AND t.operation_name 'Operation2' AND p.clt_no='" . $_POST["clt_no"] . "'";
                $resultyield = mysql_query($query);
                if($resultyield)
                    {
                        if(mysql_num_rows($resultyield) > 0)$operation2_input =mysql_result($resultyield,0,"operation2_input");
                    }
                  $operation2_total = $operation2_input;
                }
        }
    ?>
    
    I want to happen is all the input qty that the user insert in input qty textfield will sum and the result will appear in operation2_total in input_qty textfield.
    I don't know how thus the result should be appear automatically in the input qty of operation2_total and if my code is correct.
    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. newphpcoder

    newphpcoder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Programmer
    Location:
    Philippines
    Re: Sum of input will appear in a textfield

    I have 5 operation name: operation1, operation2, operation2_total, operation3,operation4,operation5. As you notice I have a operation2_total

    How can I add the input qty of operation2 and the result will be appearing in input_qty of operation2_total.

    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  3. pein87

    pein87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Dev
    Location:
    Limbo
    If you want the sum use the sum sql function

    SELECT SUM(COLUM_NAME_HERE) FROM table_name_here WHERE condition = 'some_condition_here'

    Check this picture example for getting the sum take note I'm using Microsoft SQL Server 2008 not MySQL.
    [​IMG]

    Also in your query your using the super global POST without getting a single value instead you'll get the entire array. You need to say a direct key like
    PHP:
    $_POST['cloth_typ']
    instead of $_POST. Also define variables to hold the contents of the desired POST values and if your using them as an array in the html (<input type="text" name = "inqty[]" />) use foreach instead of for because for is a count loop and associative arrays are slower in process time when you use a for loop. Lastly using * in your query returns all the values only use the values you actually need to decrease database retrieval load(getting the data you want). Also use this

    PHP:
    $myUrlVar $_POST[do];

    if(
    $myUrlVar)
    {

    swicth($myUrlVar)
    {

    case 
    "submit":
    //code to run
    break;
    case 
    "showtotal":
    //code to run
    break;
    default:
    //no value is set trigger error and show default page
    break;

    }


    }
    Also use for the total number or rows in the database

    Code:
    SELECT COUNT(*) FROM table_name_here WHERE condition = 'some_condition_here'
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2010

Share This Page