Source code for the selected function is not available

bitcod's Avatar
Newbie Member
"if the source code for the selected function is not available,the function object code appears in dissassamly wimdow"
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms934288.aspx
I installed/uninstalled VS.2005,checked all debugging options still every time when I debug program that containes a function when debugger encounter a function it goes to disassambly window.Debug-Release it is all set up corectlly.What should I do? Is there any command to disable dissasambly window
Code:
#include<stdio.h>
void f();
int main()
{
	f();
}
void f()//<-----------------goes to disassambly window
{
	printf("\n");
}
0
DaWei's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2006
Team Leader
Possibly I misunderstand. Seems to work for me. Run to breakpoint:


Step into:
0
bitcod's Avatar
Newbie Member
Of course it works-it is just example code.I have problem with my Visual Studio 2005 pro debugger I have reinstalled Vista/XP and two disparate VS 2005, I want know what debuggin option I must check that is causing this problem.I have checked all debbuging options with my friend on his VS by phone still dosen't work.I have installed fresh original copy from my college MSDNAA it should be all set up right.What causes this "Source code for the selected function is not available" look at link
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms934288.aspx
What excatly i must do to preventing this happens
0
DaWei's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2006
Team Leader
Quote:
Of course it works-it is just example code
Why the hell would you post something that works as an example of something that fails? Is it a full moon, or Silly Season, or something?
0
bitcod's Avatar
Newbie Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaWei
Why the hell would you post something that works as an example of something that fails? Is it a full moon, or Silly Season, or something?
IT DOESN'T WORK!.I post that example for everybody to see when this is happening.....Sometimes when you have logical bug in program that will take you to disassembly...I post it for you to see that I don't have logical bug...I meant of course it works for you...it dosen't work for me
Everybody shoot answers
0
DaWei's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2006
Team Leader
It doesn't work. Of course it works. It doesn't work. Good luck on getting any more answers, even if you make up your mind. Posting the MSDN link doesn't help you if we read it, but you don't.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Are you sure its for function f() it goes to disassembly or its for printf() function.
0
bitcod's Avatar
Newbie Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbir
Are you sure its for function f() it goes to disassembly or its for printf() function.
In every program when debugger encounter function it goes to disassembly.In <options> <debugging><general><enable address-level debugging><show disassembly if source is no avilable>I have disable it.And now when program comes to the function on screen jumps out MessageBox"Source code is not available!" instead going to disassembly window
printf() dosen't matter...empty function with int x; in it is still acting same
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
The probably its with your debug environment.