1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

shut down problem

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Sanchita Chakrabarty, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. Sanchita Chakrabarty

    Sanchita Chakrabarty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi all whenever i want to shut down my pc it restarta all over again and i have to just cut off the power supply
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Hi, Again you have posted in the wrong Forum.

    Also regarding your problem about the pc gets restarted instead of shutdown I dont think its a problem with the software but its the hardware probably as far as I can detect from the small description.
     
  3. Sanchita Chakrabarty

    Sanchita Chakrabarty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry for the wrong forum,how does one correctly understand what is the forum supposed to be.i thought it was an OS malfunction.
    Well regarding the problem, i scanned all my hardware devices and they are all working fine,sometimes the pc does shut down and sometimes not.can u tell me which section of the hardware do i need to check plz.
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Its OS Windows under queries and expert comments and not an Article
    All I can say is hardware problem.
     
  5. anandsinghin

    anandsinghin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whenever i shut down my win xp, pc says startup guard error.. what should i do ??
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Probably it looks like you have some program / trojan for guarding the registry / startup area. Try removing that program.
     
  7. anandsinghin

    anandsinghin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i find out about the program/trojan.. i have checked in the startup files.. nothin is there
     
  8. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    It seems that you have StartupGuard installed, it is an utility.Startup Guard alerts you whenever a new program is set to start automatically with Windows. On initial run, it will prompt you for each existing entry, allowing you to keep it or remove it. After that, it runs in the system tray and whenever a new program is added to the startup, it will prompt you to allow it or not.
    Try uninstalling StartupGuard.
    Then download Spybot Search & Destroy, install it and run a check to detect possible spywares/malwares on your system.You can get it here.
     
  9. anandsinghin

    anandsinghin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had uninstalled the startup guard a long time back.. even then the error keeps coming.. i have run spybot, the error is still coming..
     
  10. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    Did Spybot report any spywares on your system?

    Do one thing goto Spybot, then swicth to Advanced mode (Mode>Advanced)
    Navigate to Tools>System Startup. Search for any entry relating to StartupGuard, if found delete it.
     

Share This Page