how to search multiple websites simultaneously?

Discussion in 'Web Development' started by kadad, Aug 10, 2007.

1. kadad

kadad New Member

i tried searching for this but couldn't find anything..but that might be because i'm very new to all of this and didn't know exactly what to search for...but i did try.

i want to be able to run one search from my site and query results from several sites (i.e. kayak.com, other travel sites, etc.) i assume its just a script but again, i really dont know..if it is just a simple script, is it something that i could find online at hotscripts.com or a similiar site? or is it something that i have to get a programmer to develop for me?

thanks a TON guys!

2. kadad

kadad New Member

or would it be easier to use the Oodle API ( <<Link Removed>> ) and have a programmer/web developer customize for my needs? (if that's even possible..i don't know how customizable their API is..or what an API is for that matter..)

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2007
  3. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member

Google does not provide that option and the option that google provide is from one site or not from one site search.

4. kadad

kadad New Member

^ I don't want to do it from google..sorry, maybe I was not clear.
    What I want is from my own website users would select attributes (i.e. used car search: zip code, make, model, etc.) and then it would search the listings posted at cars dot com, autotrader, etc.) Is that more clear?

5. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member

Then you need to be accessing the database and running a select query on all the databases (if they are in different database) or tables (if they are on the same database) for all the sites and just show the results.

Nowadays the word search has become equivalent to Google.

6. jwshepherd

jwshepherd New Member

VP Technology Corporation
    Home Page:
    http://www.officialhackers.com