1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)

Discussion in 'Windows' started by kiddo, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. kiddo

    kiddo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi, I got this strange problem recently.
    when I double-click or want to open a folder,
    the 'Search' will show up,
    so I must use 'Explore' to access a folder.
    Is it virus?
    how to handle it?

    I use Windows XP.

    help me pliz!
     
  2. naimish

    naimish New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    On Earth
    Yes, this is a virus, but you need to check which Antivirus System clears it.
     
  3. neo_vi

    neo_vi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    Its of course a virus. try restoring ur system in safe mode. if it doesn't work out install any AV's to clear it.
     
  4. pankaj.sea

    pankaj.sea New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Home Page:
    hi kiddo!
    what problem u r facing moths ago I've faced same thing!
    fact is that the problem is made by virus sure but its unrecoverable even u repair win xp after deleting the virus by any using any AV!
    So I personally suggest u to back up ur important things and format ur pc then without opening any hard drives install a AV before proceeding with driver installation and while formatting format drive C in normal mode not in quick mode!
    Bye the way what about ur AV?
    Thanks....
     
  5. kiddo

    kiddo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thx 4 the tips,
    I've searched to some place,
    and lead me to Microsoft Support site,
    and I found the solution for this problem
    (I haven't try it yet... :p)

    Look like there were 2 registries changed by the virus,
    so to fix it, open 'regedit'

    Code:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\Shell, modify to 'none'
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\Shell, modify to 'none'
    
    hey, pankaj,
    thx 4 ur tips last time,
    I still using Avira9,
    today I almost lost my crack files (PDVD9),
    and a new problem comes....

    I instal PS CS4, with crack 4 full activation,
    but today it can't be run,
    I don't know what happen,
    I just have a full scan today,
    any clue?
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
  6. pankaj.sea

    pankaj.sea New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Home Page:
    Hi!
    I thinnk this reg enrtries may solve theproblem, coz as we dont have this problem, I found the default values are the same as u mentioned! So try this and post result! :shy:
     
  7. kiddo

    kiddo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yesterday, I had tried and...
    Hurray....
    It works!!!

    but I found another proble:(
    --------------------------------------

    Problem maker, lol :D
    hope all of u will help me
     

Share This Page