1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to find a record from recordset?

Discussion in 'Visual Basic ( VB )' started by nadunalexander, May 4, 2007.

  1. nadunalexander

    nadunalexander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    there is a recordset with name and address. name is primary key. I have to update some one address to his new address. How can i set cursor to the exact record without searching in all the records? I used while loop to set cursor. But it is very slow.

    This is my code
    Code:
    recordset.movefirst
    Do While Not recordset.EOF
                    If recordset.Fields(0).Value = txtName Then
                        recordset.Fields(1).Value = txtNewAddress
                        Exit Do
                    End If
                    recordset.MoveNext
     Loop
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2007
  2. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    :| select by the primary key and update it!
     
  3. nadunalexander

    nadunalexander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Can u explain some more. I dont know database deeply
     
  4. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    Code:
    recordset.open oConn,"SELECT * FROM table WHERE primary_key=" & pValue
    
    if Not recordset.EOF
      recorset.Fields(1).Value = "something new"
      recordset.update
    end if
    
    something like this...
     
  5. nadunalexander

    nadunalexander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Thank you for ur code. But my problem is not updating table. updating a recordset record that has more than one records
     

Share This Page