Programming question

literaj's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2007
Light Poster
Ok. I am new to this kind of stuff. So my question. I have an .exe and i want to know what program was it made in.. so i can modify it.. Can i do that?
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
If you know what program it is made up from then also you will not be able to modify it unless you have the original source code for the exe.
literaj's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2007
Light Poster
maybe true.. but if i have the program i can make it from scrap right? So how can i find out with what program it was made?
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
If you want to make from scratch then you just need the very basic info. Is it a win application or a dos based one which can be easily inferred from the looks of the application / exe file
literaj's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2007
Light Poster
i don`t think it`s that simple.. this specific program works with the internet and has some particular funcitons that i don`t believe can be made with any program..
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by literaj
i don`t think it`s that simple.. this specific program works with the internet and has some particular funcitons that i don`t believe can be made with any program..
If I tell that its made in C-C++
literaj's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2007
Light Poster
can you be 100% sure?.. ok let me ask you another question. So i have this program that works with the internet.. how can i see what data comes in and goes out so i can make the program to work with the same data.. Here is the thing.. It`s a game.. and i wanna make a BOT an automated player. Get me?. Can you help me with this?
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by literaj
can you be 100% sure?.. ok let me ask you another question. So i have this program that works with the internet.. how can i see what data comes in and goes out so i can make the program to work with the same data.. Here is the thing.. It`s a game.. and i wanna make a BOT an automated player. Get me?. Can you help me with this?
You need to study a lot. Specially socket programming in C-C++
literaj's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2007
Light Poster
so that`s all you can provide me?
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by literaj
so that`s all you can provide me?
Yup but thats just to start with.