1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

Program won't execute

Discussion in 'C' started by usama_muneeb, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. usama_muneeb

    usama_muneeb Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using the Stephen G. Kochan C textbook. A sample program is troublng with executing. Here's the code.

    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    
    int main () {
    	int ratingCounters[11], i, responce;
    
    	for ( i = 1; i <= 20; ++i ) 
    		ratingCounters[i] = 0;
    
    	printf("Enter your responses\n");
    
    	for ( i = 1; i <= 20; ++i ) {
    		scanf("%i", &responce);
    
    		if ( responce < 1 || responce > 10 )
    			printf("Bad responce: %i\n", responce);
    		else
    			++ratingCounters[responce];
    	}
    
    	printf("\n\nRating    Number of Responces\n");
    	printf("------ -------------------\n");
    
    	for ( i = 1; i <= 10; ++i )
    		printf("%4i%14i\n", i, ratingCounters[i]);
    
    	return 0;
    }
    I am sick of the blinking cursor on xTerminal.
     
  2. asadullah.ansari

    asadullah.ansari TechCake

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    NOIDA
    This is output layout. Correct only . What you want?

    Code:
    asadulla ~/test> g++ temp7.cpp
    execution gcc-3.3.1/g++ (gprs/pcusa_passport_sas)
    asadulla ~/test> ./a.out
    Enter your responses
    10
    20
    Bad responce: 20
    30
    Bad responce: 30
    40
    Bad responce: 40
    50
    Bad responce: 50
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
    Bad responce: 11
    1
    2
    3
    4
    
    
    Rating        Number of Responces
    ------      -------------------
       1             2
       2             2
       3             2
       4             2
       5             1
       6             1
       7             1
       8             1
       9             1
      10             2
    
    
     
  3. usama_muneeb

    usama_muneeb Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is meant to be a C and not a C++ program. I am using GCC. But stdio.h is C library, not C++, wonder how you compiled it under G++.
     
  4. asadullah.ansari

    asadullah.ansari TechCake

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    NOIDA
    For this simple program it does'nt matter.BY any way now i have compiled by gcc

    Code:
    
    asadulla ~/test> gcc temp7.cpp
    execution gcc-3.3.1/gcc (gprs/pcusa_passport_sas)
    asadulla ~/test> ./a.out
    Enter your responses
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    2
    3
    4
    4
    5
    5
    5
    5
    12
    Bad responce: 12
    2
    2
    2
    10
    1
    
    
    Rating    Number of Responces
    ------ -------------------
       1             2
       2             5
       3             2
       4             3
       5             5
       6             1
       7             0
       8             0
       9             0
      10             1
    
    
    
     
  5. usama_muneeb

    usama_muneeb Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have retried under Ubuntu and CRUX Linux. Same output:

    Code:
    root@toshiba:~# gcc 7_2.c
    root@toshiba:~# ./a.out
    
    //blinking cursor ( 10 - 15 mins then termination )
    
    Which OS are you using? Wait, I'll try under GCC 3.

    Code:
    root@toshiba:~# gcc -v
    Using built-in specs.
    Target: i486-linux-gnu
    Configured with: ../src/configure -v --enable-languages=c,c++,fortran,objc,obj-c++,treelang --prefix=/usr --enable-shared --with-system-zlib --libexecdir=/usr/lib --without-included-gettext --enable-threads=posix --enable-nls --with-gxx-include-dir=/usr/include/c++/4.1.3 --program-suffix=-4.1 --enable-__cxa_atexit --enable-clocale=gnu --enable-libstdcxx-debug --enable-mpfr --enable-checking=release i486-linux-gnu
    Thread model: posix
    gcc version 4.1.3 20070929 (prerelease) (Ubuntu 4.1.2-16ubuntu2)
    root@toshiba:~# 
    I am stuck at this point of arrays for the programs I write complain the same.
     
  6. usama_muneeb

    usama_muneeb Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By the way, which shell are you using? BASH or SH?
     
  7. asadullah.ansari

    asadullah.ansari TechCake

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    NOIDA
    I am using sun-solaris system
     
  8. usama_muneeb

    usama_muneeb Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, fine, GCC 3 compiles and runs it smoothly. Thanks for letting me know that there's no bug in code. I think I shan't install GCC 4 until the stable release. Both my CRUX and Ubuntu use 4 and I have installed 3.4 on Ubuntu machine.
     

Share This Page