1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Same profile, ALL USERS - Firefox 3.0.6 - How can I do it?

Discussion in 'Unix' started by Panarchy, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. Panarchy

    Panarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi

    I'm very interested in having my Firefox installation, (3.06, on Ubuntu 8.10), and profile across all users on my system. This includes when I use a program such as Remastersys to create a LiveCD.

    When running this LiveCD, I would like its Firefox installation to have a;
    • Homepage of my choosing
    • Addons of my choosing
    • Bookmarks of my choosing (including Bookmarks toolbar)
    Please tell me how I can achieve this.

    Thanks in advance,

    Panarchy
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,287
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You have to copy the profile folder to the same location on another computer, and set it to be the only active profile (delete other default profiles). It should load automatically.

    In Vista My profile URL is

    C:\Users\shabbir\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\(usually named xxxx.default)
     
  3. Panarchy

    Panarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi

    How do I always make it load automatically? You see, I'm using Ubuntu 8.10 (modified) and I want the same profile to appear for every user, by default. How can I do this?

    Please reply

    Thanks in advance,

    Panarchy
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,287
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Locate your profile folder and copy the same for all the user profiles after install and so it would be same profile load automatically.

    If you create new users later I guess you have to be doing the copy each time.
     
  5. Panarchy

    Panarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But I need it to happen automatically. Since I can't (or don't know how to) directly edit the .iso to change a specific folder.

    Please tell me how to have the same profile for all my users without having to individually copy the folder at bootup.

    Thanks in advance,

    Panarchy
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,287
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You dont have to change the iso .

    You setup your profile as you want in FF.

    Then when you are done with your profile get the folder under the profile.

    Then just copy that profile folder for other users as well.

    You do not need to edit any files.
     
  7. Panarchy

    Panarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah... okay.

    Starting to understand now.

    So, how do I make sure (force?) that folder to be the default firefox profile for all users?

    Exact steps please!

    Thanks in advance,

    Panarchy
     
  8. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,287
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Delete all other folders in that profile folder. Remember they are of the format xxxxxx.Default as folder name.
     
  9. Panarchy

    Panarchy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, currently in my Vista profile from Mac
     

Share This Page