1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Porting,Unicode,Compilation,64Bit...how

Discussion in 'Win32' started by rln, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. rln

    rln New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi !

    Is it possible the single Application should support ANSI,UNICODE,Internationlization,64 Bit Codig etc...? (No MFC. Only with Win32)

    If Yes Wat are actions to be taken while coding..

    Example : For displaying "Hello World"
    It should display in ANSI
    It should display in UNICODE
    it also able to handle in 64 bit(if display invovled integers)
    Also it should able to display hindi,regional languages and other international languages...
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You should be understanding some thing.

    1. ANSI / Unicode are exclusive set.
    2. 32 / 64 bit are also exclusive set.

    Now you can have some thing like a 32 bit exe which runs first and depending on the configuration and setting loads a new file / DLL and that will be your best option.
     
  3. rln

    rln New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fine.

    I am doing project and message hooking.
    Currently I am maintaining 2 files for ANSI Version and UNICODE Version.
    Because ANSI /Unicode Version of Messages are dependent on
    Preprocessor called UNICODE and _UNICODE.

    I need to give a Single Executable for handling both.

    Is it possible ? Or give a suggestion regarding this.
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Its possible but in a very tricky way. What you can do is have all the executables compiled in different versions and have them as an embedded resource in your final executable and when that runs just extracts the necessary exe and runs it.
     
  5. rln

    rln New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it also Applicable to the same 32/64 Bit switching also. ?
    Or any other idea
    Means
    32 Bit ANSI
    32 Bit Unicode
    64 Bit ANSI
    64 bit Unicode


    what is the mode of primary Executable ? ( is it 32 bit or 64 Bit?)
    I think it should be 32 bit only.
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Any thing you believe you are comfortable at.
     

Share This Page