1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiple accounts?

Discussion in 'Ethical hacking' started by shandude, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. shandude

    shandude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a user account on a VB 3.7 site. Now if I create another account using a proxy IP address while registering, is there any way the admin can detect that another account as an duplicate account of mine? Thanks.
     
  2. SpOonWiZaRd

    SpOonWiZaRd Know what you can do.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Programmer
    Location:
    South Africa
  3. FrozenFire

    FrozenFire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dont you have to clean your history before registering?
    cuz i got caught for makin a second account even tho it was with a different IP (using proxy).
     
  4. Darkness1337

    Darkness1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they mite b using ur machineID ? maybe!!
     
  5. shandude

    shandude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The VB admins have acces to some mods named "Multiple registratinon detector" and "AE Detector". Now the 2nd mod actually stores a cookie in your machine. If it sees the cookie on your machine and you register a different account then you will get caught. So always use Opera or Firefox (Preferably Opera) for your adventure :nice: and be sure to block any cookies from the site you are going to register.
    Can anyone confirm this?
     
  6. bgsoo

    bgsoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would want to know more about this advance method too.

    I surf using a proxy all the time, my browser hides its own user agent (type and information are all fake), clear all my history, cookies and temp contents upon exit but still my multiple accounts could still be detected.

    Are there any methods which I'm not aware of?
    MAC ID is not possible because only the isp have access to them under the same subnet.

    Someone above suggested machine ID?
    Could that be possible?

    One method is by matching your browser's HTTP header and user agent information.If multiple accounts have the same information logged that matches exactly with one another, it should give hints that they are most likely clone accounts.
     
  7. SpOonWiZaRd

    SpOonWiZaRd Know what you can do.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Programmer
    Location:
    South Africa
    I created several accounts on a chat site, and another account on this site and 3 accounts on hellboundhackers, 2 hotmail accounts and 5 webmail accounts, I never had any problems.
     

Share This Page