1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mind games 07

Discussion in 'Game programming' started by rockyrakster, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. rockyrakster

    rockyrakster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    MIND GAMES 07

    ABOUT THE GAME
    It Basiclly consists of two Games Hangman and speedspell(Those Using tatasky should be familiar with his game) and is written in c++ .This was my first game and done in early 2007.
    HANGMAN
    1.This uses file handling
    2.Uses Bubblesort technique for high score
    3.Good presentation
    4.If you find the right answer you get some get Trivia on it too
    5.4 Categories with 3 levels each are there.
    6.Stores alreday entered letters.And pops a message when re-entered
    SPEED SPELL
    1.In this game I will give you a nine letter word jumbled.You have to find and form various words with.Points will be given based on the size of the word you form.
    2.A good timer system
    3.Back space usage in getch() and You can't enter a larger word than a nine letter world.
    4.Stores Already entered words and pops error when re-entered

    DRAWBACKS
    1.In Speed spell there is limitation in the words available in dictionary of the program.I might have left out simple words
    2.Presentation could have been better but as it was my first this was what I could manage...
    This might be long but made it quite efficient

    CODE:
    It is long so see it in program
    the download in txt file​

    http://www.4shared.com/file/126861543/c26ac0e9/Mind_Games_07.html

    please comment
     
  2. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    I think you can post the link directly. Is it right shabbir?
     
  3. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    I have vista. So i am using DosBox. I run the program, it runs fine till begin, after that the screen is blank. In both the games..Am i doing something wrong?

    ps - in your rar file, you added .swap files. They are of no need and take a lot of space.
     
  4. rockyrakster

    rockyrakster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Mate in the program there is a line called
    Mate put all the dat files in your default program directory with the program file and run it .I have found this error in many PC's but in my system it works from everywhere.Just check your default folder in your direcories option and copy all files there mate it should work:)
     
  5. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    I wonder why do people still use Turbo C++ ...
     
  6. rockyrakster

    rockyrakster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Mate It is the basic and best way to learn for newbie's.It sets strong basics in OOP
     
  7. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Not yet. Double digit post counts but I have done that in the post.
     
  8. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    Basic yes, strong basics no... 'Coz it is not ANSI C, and now i am trying to move on from TC to Code Blocks and I feel why are we taught TC in the first place..????

    Its like saying learning DOS first to learn how to use an OS....you don't need to!! Just jump to Xp/Vista..

    and all the files are in the same folder, else it wont compile... I zipped it to TC>mindgames> all files..
    i see its all there...it runs fine uptil there...anyone else has this problem??
     
  9. rockyrakster

    rockyrakster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Hey just unzip all files to default program folder[The folder by default where you can save programs it will work...
     
  10. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    The Hangman started (i didnt change anything) i could see the guy hanging at starting. But if i press anything i didnt get any response.
    by any response I mean if i entered incorrect it responded but if correct it didnt...
    Also while in menu, if i press right down keys the game exited.
    In speedspell i couldnt see anything. I don't know if its vistas problem or what? Though i have used Dos Box for TC's graphics but i am not sure whats wrong. All the files are there (as else it wont work, would it? )
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2009
  11. rockyrakster

    rockyrakster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Chennai,India
    Mate I It should work I have submitted it for my 12th project remeber.Did you copy it indefault c++ folder or try this please put .dat files in the place where tc.exe is located.It is only a error caused due to missing files......and it if you press right it goes of because I use getch().It is another drawback....Please try changing the dat files location.Or do this Executte the program and come out and check in all your tc folders.You will find in some folder in tc where you will find cars.dat,cricket.dat,level1.dat etc with file size 0 KB this where you have to copy the dat files
     
  12. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    Ah! Ok the problem is that all the files should be in tc folder (only the cpp and dat files). Before they were inside a folder so some problem was there, but no errors.
    Game is good, i personally not fond of hangman but i loved you speed spell... It has few problems, like sometimes for 1-2 seconds whenever checking wether it exists or not it would go black and come back again (don't know why).. Also some words were not found (but thats ok)

    Overall its a very nice game, i haven't seen the code. But i enjoyed the game - Speedspell. It was fun playing the game, i got engrossed in it...

    Post more, i would love to learn some game programming too ..
    Cheers.. :)
     

Share This Page