1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting ...

Discussion in 'Programming' started by metahuman, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. metahuman

    metahuman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Came across this while reading a paper: some programming languages allow the programmer to specify whether or not array bounds checking is performed at runtime.

    Now I am confused whether this is a good idea or a bad one :worried: ..... kindly pool in your inputs people.....
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Its one of the bad thing when managing the project. There are many programming languages where you don't even need to declare the variables and at the first use it gets declared and such things are the worst part of it when you tend to make spelling errors and new variables are automatically declared.
     
  3. coderzone

    coderzone Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its not all about disadvantages but definitely some advantages as well. I would vote for it as an advantage because I don't need to be a very correct in syntax to get off with the language and when I am confident I can definitely opt for forced varaiable declaration and array sizes.
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    But the other way to look at it is you are learning the wrong way from starting and then when you get into real projects you tend to apply the wrong things.
     
  5. coderzone

    coderzone Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We start applying something.

    Also about the array being expandable when you insert more elements you tend to focus on your logic rather than concentrating on how to go about perfecting the language you tend to perfect your own business logic.
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Then you are leaving upto the compiler to go about optimizing your business logic. If you are not sure how many elements your business logic can have then its better to be using more flexible option then arrays.
     
  7. coderzone

    coderzone Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If arrays is flexible option then whats the harm.
     
    Safari likes this.
  8. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The harm is you don't have the option of limited input then. But if arrays is something which can take n input and then when needed more then it can be relocated or if you are not sure then you can use something like List where we have unlimited input serving both the purpose.
     
  9. Safari

    Safari New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably the argument can always continue but My vote goes for languages having strict in declaration.
     
  10. metahuman

    metahuman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why is nobody considering the point of increased compilation and execution time in case of 'enabled array bounds cheking ? ' ..... can't we just say that it's good for debugging and fixing errors in the development phase and once the code goes into production the array bounds checking can be turned off ??
     
  11. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It should be the other way round. Infact when in development mode it hardly matters the extra bit of time but when in the production environment it matters and so we should have that option turned on (Bounds checking on) in production.

    Again the disadvantage is if you change the option from development to production you can have surprises when doing the deployment and so its never a good option to have different setup for development and deployment.

    I will give you one example as to the chat software we worked on and in worked perfectly fine in the development environment as well as the testing environment of our network but when deployed it just crashed when we double clicked on the exe and everything that we did like primary testing was questioned but after a day or two of debugging in the development environment ( Because we could not debug in the client environment ) we realized that there network had a firewall setup and we used the chatting on a port which is blocked by the firewall on the client network. Remember to get as close as possible to the production environment so that you don't have to face such problems. The solution to the problem was finally to change the port at which chat application worked.
     

Share This Page