1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how can i write this ?!

Discussion in 'C' started by cooop, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. cooop

    cooop New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Write a program that takes the x-y coordinates of a point in the Cartesian plane and prints a message telling either an axis on which the point lies, or the quadrant in which it is found, or the origin.
    Code:
     
                                  |
                                  |
                            QII   |  QI
                                  |
                                  |
                         -------------------
                                  |
                                  |
                            QIII  |  QIV
                                  |
                                  |
     
    
    Sample lines of output for 4 runs.
    Run #1
    Enter X and Y separated by a space: -1.0 -2.5
    The point (-1.0, -2,5) is in quadrant III
    Run #2
    Enter X and Y separated by a space: 0.0 -4.8
    The point (0.0, 4.8) is on the y axis
    Run #3
    Enter X and Y seperated by a space: 0.0 0.0
    The point (0.0, 0.0) is the origin
    Run #4
    Enter X and Y seperated by a space: 5.2 0.0
    The point (5.2, 0.0) is on the x axis
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 15, 2009
  2. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    algo :-

    if (x == 0 && y == 0)
    {
    msg = at origin
    }
    else if (x == 0 && y != 0)
    {
    msg = point is on y axis
    }

    else if (x != 0 && y == 0)
    {
    msg = point is on x axis
    }

    else if (x > 0 && y > 0)
    {
    msg = point in Q I
    }

    else if (x > 0 && y < 0)
    {
    msg = point in Q IV
    }

    /*add other if conditions as per requirement*/

    i hope it clears the idea...there maybe other ways to do it too....but this is the simplest way, :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
  3. cooop

    cooop New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    no problem...
    after you done this way, try reducing the code, as i said its the simplest way...
    hint :- if inside if...
     

Share This Page