1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do I make text marque?

Discussion in 'JavaScript and AJAX' started by pein87, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. pein87

    pein87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Dev
    Location:
    Limbo
    What I want to do is make the text marque inside a fixed width div. I was thinking that I should get the element by id, get its height, and width. determine the inner divs height and width. Since the inner div would be clipped from view by the parent div because I'd use overflow: hidden; in the css rule for it. Then I would += the inner divs top value until the bottom reaches the top and then reset it so it flows smoothly. Would anyone know how to implement this? I suck at javascript animations but I'd like to stop on mouse over and resume on mouseout.
     
  2. johnny.dacu

    johnny.dacu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do intend to reset it smoothly. i ask because i imagine when you reset somehow the change will be visible to user. Instead you could try to define inner boxs with relative postion. When animation plays check if the bottom for first item has reach the top border and then move it to the bottom this way you could have a continous animation.
     
  3. parryfreelance

    parryfreelance New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    hi...

    What is text marque..??? meet again.
     
  4. ManzZup

    ManzZup New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Production Manager:Software @ ZONTEK
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Home Page:
    dude you thnk about using the jscrpt animation or the common html marquee?
    it you juzt need to post something you can always use <marquee></marquee>
    if you want beyond that well you need jscript
     
    shabbir likes this.
  5. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,293
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    <marquee></marquee> does not behave rightly in all browser.
     

Share This Page