How can i code for adding and deleting data in datagrid

viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
Any body can help me in making coding for adding and deleting data in datagrid with example attached
Attached Files
File Type: zip Form1.zip (16.7 KB, 11 views)
viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
how to add and delete data in datagrid?
viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
Code:
Dim conn As ADODB.Connection
Dim Rs As ADODB.Recordset
Private Sub cmdAdd_Click()
If Len(Trim(Text1.Text)) > 0 Then
With Rs
.AddNew
DataGrid1.DataField = "Field1"
DataGrid1.DataField = "Field1"
.Update
DataGrid1.Refresh
End With
DataGrid1.Field(1).DataField Text1.Text
DataGrid1.Field(2).DataField Text2.Text
DataGrid1.Field(3).DataField Text3.Text
DataGrid1.Field(4).DataField Text4.Text
DataGrid1.Field(5).DataField Text5.Text
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
Else
MsgBox "Please Insert Date"
End If
End Sub
Private Sub Form_Load()
Set conn = New ADODB.Connection
conn.Provider = "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
conn.ConnectionString = "Data Source=" & App.Path & "\db1.mdb"
conn.Open
Set Rs = New ADODB.Recordset
Rs.Open "SELECT * from Table1", conn, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
Do While Not Rs.EOF = True
Text1.DataField = "Field1"
Text2.DataField = "Field2"
Text3.DataField = "Field3"
Text4.DataField = "Field4"
Text5.DataField = "Field5"
Rs.MoveNext
Loop
End Sub
WHERE I AM WRONG

Last edited by shabbir; 28Jul2010 at 13:53.. Reason: Code blocks
viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
Dim conn As ADODB.Connection
Dim Rs As ADODB.Recordset
Private Sub cmdAdd_Click()
If Len(Trim(Text1.Text)) > 0 Then
With Rs
.AddNew
DataGrid1.DataField = "Field1"
DataGrid1.DataField = "Field1"
.Update
DataGrid1.Refresh
End With
DataGrid1.Field(1).DataField Text1.Text
DataGrid1.Field(2).DataField Text2.Text
DataGrid1.Field(3).DataField Text3.Text
DataGrid1.Field(4).DataField Text4.Text
DataGrid1.Field(5).DataField Text5.Text
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
DataGrid1.Text = ""
Else
MsgBox "Please Insert Date"
End If
End Sub
Private Sub Form_Load()
Set conn = New ADODB.Connection
conn.Provider = "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
conn.ConnectionString = "Data Source=" & App.Path & "\db1.mdb"
conn.Open
Set Rs = New ADODB.Recordset
Rs.Open "SELECT * from Table1", conn, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
Do While Not Rs.EOF = True
Text1.DataField = "Field1"
Text2.DataField = "Field2"
Text3.DataField = "Field3"
Text4.DataField = "Field4"
Text5.DataField = "Field5"
Rs.MoveNext
Loop
End Sub

WHERE I AM Wrong Can anybody help me?
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
If you post the same thing 10 more times it would not help. Your code is just perfect.

Your first error was you attached the complete code without any hint on where you are stuck. Would you download somebodies code debug it and reply where he is wrong.

You made the same mistake couple of more times.

Your code is just correct but it does not work like you want and that is normal.
virxen's Avatar, Join Date: Nov 2009
Pro contributor
Code:
Private Sub cmdadd_Click()
 If Len(Trim(Text1.Text)) > 0 Then
 Adodc1.Recordset.AddNew
 Adodc1.Recordset.Fields("date") = Text1.Text
 Adodc1.Recordset.Fields("Customer Name") = Text2.Text
 Adodc1.Recordset.Fields("amount") = Text3.Text
 Adodc1.Recordset.Update
Adodc1.RecordSource = "SELECT * FROM Table1"
Adodc1.Caption = Adodc1.RecordSource
Else
MsgBox "Please Insert Date"
End If

End Sub
use this to add records

for deleting the selected row use this
Code:
Private Sub Command1_Click()
If Adodc1.Recordset.RecordCount > 0 Then
Adodc1.Recordset.Delete
Else
MsgBox "no record found"
End If
End Sub

Last edited by virxen; 29Jul2010 at 04:00..
shabbir, viv345 likes this
viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
Sorry to state that it is not an copied code from some bodies project. It is my own project. First I tried the codes to say data in MS Access it saved. After than i changed the codes to save the data in List boxes. But I was not satisfied because in some forms I have to Add/delete the names of customer and which should be displayed in Forms.

But thanks for helping.
viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
Study in Books and then try to make the project.

THANKS AGAIN!
viv345's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Contributor
Thanks problem solved