1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I centralize sql server database

Discussion in 'SQL Server' started by rhaazy, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. rhaazy

    rhaazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am developing around sql server express 2005, and I have a database
    that I, and a few other people work on. Right now whenever someone
    needs to make changes, they need to go to where the database is on the
    server, copy it locally, attatch it, make changes, detatch, and copy
    it back over to the server... There must be another way. I tried
    adding the database to a project solution in SourceSafe, but that
    doesn't seem to make things any easier.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Have a database on the server and have the Enterprise Edition in the clients from where you want to edit and change the database from the client.
     
  3. rhaazy

    rhaazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your quick reply.

    My SQL server background is quite limited, perhaps you could elaborate a little on your explanation.. I am not quite sure what you mean by Enterprise Edition.
     
  4. rhaazy

    rhaazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By enterprise edition you mean.... as opposed to the express edition that I am currently using.

    I am not using enterprise edition, I am using sql server 2005 express.
     
  5. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    What I meant is SQL Server comes with Query browser that you should install in the clients and that only the Enterprise edition has that facility and not with the personal editions as far as I know. I may be wrong.
     
  6. rhaazy

    rhaazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess my question can really be simplified down to this statement:

    How does one remotely access a database through SQL Server Management Studio Express?
     
  7. rhaazy

    rhaazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I figured it out, I feel kind of silly now that I realize how simple my problem was... Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page