HELP! being re-routed and dont know how to fix

Cmd Keene's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2008
Newbie Member
so...

i thought it would be cool to let my room mate use my comp. apparently not. the problem im having is whenever i go to go to a specific website (ie. Facebook) i immediatly get re routed to another website (ie. gay porn). im using mozilla firefox 3.0.1, on windows xp.
n e help would be very much appreciated cause i sure as hell cant figure it out

thanks
0
neo_vi's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2008
Invasive contributor
thats cos of spyware or adware. Get Adaware from lavasoft.com and perforn thorough scan. U'll evade that. Or u can also use softs like spybot search and destroy, spyware terminator. I prefer adaware or spyware terminator. MAke the Scan ASAP.
0
Cmd Keene's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2008
Newbie Member
k,
so i did what neo vi said and although it did remove some spyware from my comp it did not solve the problem. my room mate being the nice guy that he is also told me that that was no good. so the problem is still there.

when i get re routed the url is still www.facebook.com however the destination is not facebook it is ht*p://www.onlydudes.com. when i look at the page info the address has infact changed to the facebook address, however all of the other specs are the same. if you need more info tell me....

any clues?

(and while your at it any good, wholesome things i can do to him....he runs a mac)

Last edited by shabbir; 15Oct2008 at 10:17.. Reason: Link to porn site removed
0
P455w0rd_Cr4kz's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2007
Ambitious contributor
A lot of times,even tho anti-spyware programs get ridd of the main files, it still redirects you,something similar to the winxp antivirus spyware. Try diff. programs,but for now,"Dissable all the "browser addons". Also known as BHO (browser helper objects)
Those are the one's that redirect your browser to specified website.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Please do not place a clickable link to adult site. In fact masking the url would be better option
0
Cmd Keene's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2008
Newbie Member
sorry bout the clickable link.
didnt really realize.

anyway, none of the presented options have made the problem go away. it is not spyware or adware or malware or any -ware. the problem is persisting even tho my comp is no longer running any spyware or bho's....any more ideas perhaps?
0
neo_vi's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2008
Invasive contributor
if its not anything then reinstall the OS.
0
P455w0rd_Cr4kz's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2007
Ambitious contributor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmd Keene
sorry bout the clickable link.
didnt really realize.

anyway, none of the presented options have made the problem go away. it is not spyware or adware or malware or any -ware. the problem is persisting even tho my comp is no longer running any spyware or bho's....any more ideas perhaps?
Before re-installing the OS, delete and unisntall your Mozilla Browser. Restart your PC in Safe mode,and the scann it again.
Also it would help,that before re-starting your pc in safe mode,"manually" disable the system restore option. WHY? because lots of adware/spyware/trojans are programmed to use system restore when they get unisntalled.