Help with array problems

Discussion in 'C++' started by cscstudent1991, Apr 26, 2012.

1. cscstudent1991

cscstudent1991 New Member

I am extremely new to programming and I am having a ton of trouble! I made this program to read in a external file called grades....

3313 90 42 58 64 70 75 100
    5688 88 48 79 70 79 70 94
    4700 50 44 89 73 70 73 100
    9561 88 69 88 87 84 63 98
    3199 96 69 100 90 88 67 100
    3768 78 57 80 59 57 15 60
    8291 72 56 70 82 74 9 83
    7754 76 62 93 100 78 41 58
    8146 94 68 99 94 93 9 54
    2106 98 47 96 94 70 27 100

And then give a ID number, average grade, and corresponding grade from with,above, or below 10 points of the class average and asign "satisfactroy, outstanding, or unsatisfactory". This is way above my programming skills.
    However, I am sure that I have two main problems. How do I call each column from the grades.txt and assign it to a function? Also, how do I give the corresponding grade? I know there is a problem with "if (mean < mean + 10)" and the other 2 alike, but what should take its place?

Code:
    // File: stugrades.cpp
    // Computes a external file and compiles it into a table with 3 columns of ID numbers, scores, and corresponding scores.
    #include <iostream>
    #include <fstream>
    #include <cstdlib>
    #include <cmath>
    using namespace std;
    void readStuData
    (ifstream grades,
    float score[],
    int id[],
    int count,
    bool tooMany);
    int main()
    {
    ifstream myfile ("Grades.txt"); // Input from external file
    int id[0]; // the ID of students 
    float score[1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6]; 
    float mean; // average of individuals scores
    string grade;
    int count;
    int tooMany;

if (myfile.is_open())
    {
    while ( myfile.good() )
    {
    if (mean > mean + 10)
    {
    grade = "outstanding";
    }
    else if (mean < mean - 10)
    {
    grade = "unsatisfactory";
    }
    else
    {
    grade = "satisfactory";
    }
    mean = (score++ / count);