1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hard drive prob

Discussion in 'Gadget Analysis' started by DISTRININICE, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. DISTRININICE

    DISTRININICE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hv 2 drives on my comp but i only c one on my screen.yet still i c both of them on my device manager what can i do to c the other
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,293
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    What do you mean by see in my screen? Do you mean to say in the My Computer? If that is the case try formatting the other one to the file system supported by your OS and that should allow the OS to recognize the other one as well.
     
  3. turkeythigh

    turkeythigh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    computer sci major/college
    Location:
    oregon, USA
    go in to device maneger

    click on disk manegment
    you should now see a list of drives on your computer. with visual representations of their capacity.

    rightclick on the drive that isnt working proporly.
    click format. it will ask you if you want to format it to NTFS, FAT, or FAT32. depending on what windows you are running.
     
  4. oogabooga

    oogabooga New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It won't show up until it's formatted.
    This is of course assuming it's a new (empty) drive!
     
  5. turkeythigh

    turkeythigh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    computer sci major/college
    Location:
    oregon, USA
    yeah it will also work if the drive is formated for say Linux or Mac.
    it happens to me all the time cause im always switching my drives arround from linux to windows. and sometimes it will just get stupid ( it is a microsoft product) and youll have to format it anyway.
     
  6. germanboy104

    germanboy104 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    true true.....but, depending on the configuration, could the hard drives be mirrored? some older dell systems have a copy hard drive that mirrors the other.......u could re-image the mimic drive if u want.......do somethin fun like run a linux OS on the other drive
    :nice:
     
  7. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    mirror option is available in Linux. use gparted to format ur drive in linux and use the option copy partition. Or in windows there are software available to copy the partition table. By these ways u can do it.
     
  8. germanboy104

    germanboy104 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well he cannot see one on the device manager, check the bios as mirrored hard drives will probably show up there.
    and windows supports mirrored drives 2, one is simply a copy of all the data on the other.
     

Share This Page