1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

G4EF Toolbar : Bug Reports and Feature Requests

Discussion in 'Windows' started by mayjune, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    Re: Go4Expert.com Toolbar for Firefox 1.5+

    Add direct shortcut to each section,
    lets say i visit ethical hacking Q&D and ethical hacking Articles forum a lot, to access it i directly press the keyboard shortcut
    Suggested ways to Implement it :-
    Either you built in all the forums as a direct keyboard shortcut, by numbering them and let that number be displayed next to them in the menu, so we see it each time and memorize it,
    OR
    You let us decide the shortcuts for my frequent visited ones with an option button where you have a drop down bar like
    drop down = which section + ctrl + alt + shift + drop down = numbers (upto 99)

    Lets say i have ethical hacking Q&D = 11 then,
    ctrl + alt + shift + 11 = open ethical hacking Q&D in same tab
    ctrl + alt + shift + T + 11 = open ethical hacking Q&D in new tab
    why T? cause its at the center and ctrl+ t is shortcut to open new tab so its easy to memorize it..

    Try if you can think of a better way to implement Tabbed, as it will get difficult to press so many buttons... specially something like ctrl + shift + alt + t + 10 (try pressing ;))

    Also i think you should remove that info tag "Go4E Main Menu" when cursor is idle on menu, as a lot of times its overlapping the submenu and anyway we know its the main menu so it has no meaning... (you decide)
    i think thats it with all these features it will be pretty much the whole G4EF on our toolbar and on our keyboard... :)

    oops i added it here please move it to bugs forum
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2009
  2. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Moved.

    I remember when I used to play Mortal Kombat 4 (very old game), I had to remember key sequences as long as the ones you mentioned :)
    It's a pain.

    I'll see if I can add some "Mouse-Action" ;)
     
  3. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Re: Go4Expert.com Toolbar for Firefox 1.5+

    That was a mistake.
    I'll correct that.

    Yeah :)

    Thanx for your suggestions on improving the toolbar.
     
  4. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    oh yeah, man so many moves and that too each one has a different action, i use to stick to one player and remember his move, i forgot his name though... :p
    ok lets see your mouse action but don't forget new tab and same tab, as thats important and try to keep it simple... :)
     
  5. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Huh .. I have been trying to get the requested features implemented, but I can't :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

    There are so many issues :
    (1) FF does not support keyboard events on menus. (So, CTRL+ENTER on menu, can't be done :()
    I can try to write some JS to achieve that, but .. I haven't been able to, yet.
    (2) Multiple key-sequences (like CTRL+SHIFT+A+B) are not supported in FF. Again, JS can be used to define macros, but that would take some time.

    So Ver.1.5 might be late. ( very late, actually :( )

    But, I might upload Ver.1.45 with some issues fixed like :
    (1) The annoying info tag is gone.
    (2) The search box can now be accessed with keyboard.
     
  6. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    hmmm....what about the mouse driven actions you said you might implement?

    take your time bro...its ok..
     
  7. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    hey saswat i have an idea,
    what about instead of combinational keys i.e. ctrl + shift + alt + g etc etc
    can we have shorcuts for forums as a sequence like
    ctrl then i press shift then i press alt then i press 09

    (got this idea from gmail, if you are checking any email, press g and then i = takes you back to inbox, g and i not to be pressed simultaneoulsy but in a sequence, thus even if sequence is a little longer its ok as a long as i don't have to press them simultaneously)

    This way new tab and same tab problem is also solved!!
    ctrl -> shift -> alt -> 09 = same tab some forum
    ctrl -> shift -> alt -> t-> 09 = new tab some forum

    How is the idea? :)

    ps - for gmail your keyboard shortcut option should be enabled in settings
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
  8. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Cool idea.
    Thanx :)

    I'll try my best to implement something soon.
     
  9. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    OMG !! Finally .. I made it :)
    I can now assign key sequences like C, then + then + to goto the C++ Q&D sub-forum.

    Yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !!!! :hurray: :happy: :nice:



    Version 1.5 coming soon :D
     
  10. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    mayjune bro, can you suggest me some systematic scheme for assigning key sequences ..
    .. like may be G 1 takes you to Go4Expert home-page
    .. and G 2 1 1 1 --\
    G # 2 # 1 # 1 # 1 takes you to :
    ##x|##|#xx|##\-C/C++
    ##x|##\#xx+- Programming
    ##x|##x-Articles/Source Codes
    Forum URLs
     
  11. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    will think and tell you... i am glad you got it..
    ps - make it version 2.0 as it has come a long way from 1.0 and its pretty much everything we would need :)
     
  12. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    It was pretty tough task to add all those keyboard shortcut JS code.
    But, I made it .. :happy:

    OK. I'll number that as Ver.2.0 :)
     
  13. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    I don't believe, the toolbar is so cool and handy now. :happy: :nice:

    (*) Added timeout for Key Sequence.
    (*) Added real-time view of Key-Sequence (Cool)
    (*) You are free to kick your mouse away now ! :)

    @ mayjune : Bro, did you get any better idea or I should implement the scheme I mentioned ??
    2morrow is a Sunday, so I'll upload the final version of the toolbar 2morrow.
     
  14. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    Sorry for the delay, wasn't home since last post...
    What i thought was instead of numbers, can we have shorthands for forum we want to visit?
    See what i noticed was we need not have shortcut for every link like forum feed url, as we do that once in a while...(rest you do though)
    so what i thought
    lets say i want to goto c/c++ forum of Article...
    so you press S->A->C->P->P (s = same tab, for new tab N->A->C->P->P)
    you need not have p for programming as we can have unique shorthand for cpp itself!!
    that way its easy to remember as numbers we might forget but cpp everyone will remember!!
    if we had to go for new tab in Question and Discussion, N Q C P P

    Now if you like this idea, i have questions
    can we have varying length shortcut or you need to have fixed length as above is of 5 length?
    that way for VB it can be just S A V B for vb in same discussion...

    think about it, but i think we should have some abbreviation in shorthand so its easy to remember

    for home page N G 4 E F where this will open home page in new tab

    and yeah one more thing, add a help button, in which you give what all the details of how to use shortcuts, what shortcut is for what, right click left click and and all the features currently supported by the version. That way if we forget we don't have to come back to forum to check....

    give me a feedback on the idea, what you liked, can we have varying length, and how you would like to implement it, don't upload it tomm, lets be sure that this goes perfect, then you upload the 2.0 :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  15. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Why not ? :)

    You can have sequences of varying length too ! :D

    OK. I'll add a help button :)

    I like the idea. I'll implement it and upload it soon.


    Today, I have also implemented a kind of fault-tolerance in the key sequence input.
    What that means is, suppose you want to enter S A V B. And.. you hit S then X instead of A. Now, unless there is some sequence like SX*, your X won't be accepted and you can enter A without starting from S again ! :D Isn't that cool ??
    So, your sequence will be SXAVB which will have the same effect as SAVB :)
     
  16. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    thats really great saswat! That feature will be quite helpful,I am quite impressed the way you have worked on this stuff. Btw when we press X by mistake i.e. a letter which is not in sequence add a beep so that it gets our attention we made a mistake... :) check if its not irritating, if it is then leave it, if it actually helps then only add it..

    Not now but soon people will use your toolbar a lot, now since its really handy
    Ok here's the list of abbrev i have thought of...


    Code:
    S/N + A/Q +
    
    FORUM NAME			SHORTHAND
    
    C/C++				= cpp
    ALP 				= alp 
    Java 				= java
    VB 				= vb
    MFC/Win32 			= mw 
    C#				= cs
    Perl 				= perl 
    Oracle 				= orac 
    [URL=http://www.go4expert.com/articles/introduction-sql-server-t34535/]SQL Server[/URL]			= sql 
    MySQL/PostGRESQL 		= msql
    PHP				= php 
    ASP/ASP.NET			= asp 
    JSP				= jsp 
    HTML/DHMTL			= html 
    Marketing			= mrktn 
    Web Design 			= webd
    Web Hosting 			= webh
    Ethical hacking			= hack
    Game Prog			= game
    Windows				= win
    Unix/LInux			= unix
    Engg Concepts 			= engc
    Search Engine 			= sengg
    Prducts Reveiew 		= prodr
    JobSeeker			= jobs
    Job Offer 			= jobo
    Freelance Marketplace		= fmrkt
    SEO Forums			= seo
    Link Popularity 		= linkp
    Google 				= google
    Hardware 			= hw
    
    
    S/N
     +
    
    
    FORUM NAME			SHORTHAND
    Information Tech		= it
    Announcement 			= anc
    Monthly Artciel Competition 	= mac
    Member Comptn			= memc
    1$ Comptn 			= 1dc
    Code Competition 		= cc
    Introduce Yourself 		= intro
    Your Vote Counts 		= vote
    Suggestion and Feedback 	= sugg
    Newsletter Archive 		= news
    Help n Support + Announcements 	= help
    Home Page 			= g4ef
    Today's Post 			= tp
    Unanswered Posts 		= up
    Check for newer version 	= check
    suggestion and bug reports 	= bug
    
    Where
    S stands for Same Tab
    N stands for New Tab
    A stands for Article
    Q stands For query and discussion

    Just check all of them before uploading since its variable length some maybe prefix of other, though i checked but i didn't see any, and if you feel you get a better shortcut change it to that
    i think this will be THE Ultimate toolbar!!! :D Yo Man! lolzz
     
  17. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    OK. I'll try that :)

    Thanx. I too hope so. But, I haven't had a feedback from shabbir since a long time.

    Changed the following, and applied the rest :
    (*) MFC/Win32 = mfc ( instead of mw )
    (*) Monthly Article Comptn = aotm ( AOTM = Article Of The Month. mac doesn't fit well )
    (*) Newsletter Archive = news ( instead of news, some might confuse with IT news )
    (*) Freelance Marketplace = freel ( instead of fmrkt, I thought that one is hard to remember )

    And, I also modified your list to look somewhat better (inserted space, changed font etc..). So, the final list of shortcuts is :
    Code:
    [FONT=Fixedsys]
    [U]Prefix ::[/U] S/N + A/Q +
    [SIZE=2]
    [U]FORUM NAME[/U][/SIZE][SIZE=2]            [U]SHORTHAND[/U][/SIZE]
    
     C/C++                  cpp
     ALP                    alp
     Java                   java
     VB                     vb
     MFC/Win32              mfc
     C#                     cs
     Perl                   perl 
     Oracle                 orac
     SQL Server             sql
     MySQL/PostGRESQL       msql
     PHP                    php
     ASP/ASP.NET            asp
     JSP                    jsp
     HTML/DHMTL             html
     Marketing              mrktn
     Web Design             webd
     Web Hosting            webh
     Ethical hacking        hack
     Game Prog              game
     Windows                win
    Unix/LInux             unix
    Engg Concepts          engc
    Search Engine          sengg
     Prducts Reveiew        prodr
    JobSeeker              jobs
     Job Offer              jobo
     Freelance Marketplace  freel
     SEO Forums             seo
     Link Popularity        linkp
     Google                 google
    Hardware               hw
    
    [/FONT][FONT=Fixedsys][U]Prefix ::[/U] S/N +[/FONT][FONT=Fixedsys]
    
    [U] FORUM NAME[/U]            [U]SHORTHAND[/U]
    
     Information Tech      it
     Announcement          anc
     Monthly Article
    Competition           aotm
     Member Comptn         memc
     1$ Comptn             1dc
     Code Competition      cc
     Introduce Yourself    intro
     Your Vote Counts      vote
     Suggestion and 
     Feedback              sugg
     Newsletter Archive    newsl
     Help n Support        help
     Home Page             g4ef
     Today's Post          tp
     Unanswered Posts      up
     Check for newer 
     version               check
     suggestion and bug 
     reports               bug[/FONT]      
     
    Thanx :happy:
    I have added so many features, now I really hope there won't be many bugs in Ver.2.0.
     
  18. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
  19. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    goto url bar
    type naruto....keyboard shortcuts interfere with it
    goto search box right of url bar, do same
    goto google toolbar (if you have one) and type there in its search box, same problem
    goto search bar in G4EF toolbar, same problem!!!
    it doesnt interfere when i type in google.com but in some tool bars it does....
     
  20. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Currently open bugs/feature requests :

    (1) Beep on invalid key press.
    (2) Option to stay in the current tab when new tabs are opened.
    (3) Persistence of settings
    (4) Avoiding interference by combos while typing -- almost solved :D
     

Share This Page