forward declaration..

qcpp's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
Newbie Member
hello friends,
i am new to C++ i have a question,
say i have 2 classes in 2 files (in same directory) say... A.cpp A.h and B.cpp B.h
in B.cpp's public i.e. (Class B's public) i want to have an instance of Class A say A *test;
Now, my question is whether it is sufficient to include the file A.h in B.h ? or i also need to say Class A (as a forward declaration in B.h) in B.h ?
When to use the forward declaration ? when is it necessary ? is there any specific conditions ?
Thanks in Advance..
SaswatPadhi's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~
Quote:
Originally Posted by qcpp View Post
Now, my question is whether it is sufficient to include the file A.h in B.h or i also need to say Class A (as a forward declaration in B.h) in B.h ?
If you just need to use a pointer to A like A *test, then you should use forward declaration of A. Of course including A.h will also do the job, but will make the compilation process slower. If Class B inherits from A (implicitly or explicitly), then including A.h is a must.

Quote:
When to use the forward declaration ?
Whenever possible, 'cuz it's faster.

Quote:
when is it necessary ?
It's never necessary ! I mean there's nothing that cannot be done without forward declaration.

Quote:
is there any specific conditions ?
Yes, there are. When you forward declare, the compiler has no idea about the contents of the class, it just knows that a class exists. So, you cannot use forward declaration for a class, when you want to access the members of that class.

Some examples, for further clarification. When you forward declare a class A, you can do things like:
  • Declaring a reference or pointer to it.
  • Declaring a func, whose arg type or return type is that class.
  • Declaring a func, whose arg type or return type is pointer/reference to that class.
But you cannot:
  • Declare a member of that type.
  • Use it as base class.