fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'mfc42d.lib'

Davekenny's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2006
Newbie Member
fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'mfc42d.lib'

I need to edit a program.
The source code is in Microsoft Visual C++.

So I tried express edition, and I get this error.

After searching forums I found out that I needed the full professional edition.

So I ordered the 90 Day Trial of Visual Studios 2005 Professional Edition.

After installing(FULL install), I ran, and wow! same error!

I've downloaded SDKs but all they have is 64 bit mfc42d.lib files, which if I use it just gives me a compatability error. I need the 32bit/x86 junks.

Anyone know how to fix this, or where to find this file? It's not on the computer or DVD, I've searched.

I'm so stuck >_<

Thank You,
Dave
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davekenny
I've downloaded SDKs but all they have is 64 bit mfc42d.lib files, which if I use it just gives me a compatability error. I need the 32bit/x86 junks.
'mfc42d.lib' comes with Vidual studio 6 and will be located in C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\MFC\Lib assuming Microsoft Visual Studio is installed at C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio. All you need to do is link to the lib and the problem should get resolved. With 2005 VS MFC80D.dll comes and not 42D.dll
0
Davekenny's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2006
Newbie Member
I do have an MFC80D.dll, but I have no idea how to link it or where to put it?
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Do you have Visual studio 6. If not get that and you will get the MFC42D.dll or try importing the source code from VS6 to VS8.

To link to a particular DLL you need to specify the path in the Lib directories.
0
arsen_lupen's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2006
Newbie Member
Installing VC 6.00 and linking with its library doesn't work. I think there are dependences for this lib.

the Comment above is invalid.

Note to have succed you should use the include files from VC 6.00, not this one from the SDK 8.0 .

Last edited by arsen_lupen; 15Sep2006 at 15:32.. Reason: Invalid comment
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
The include will work at compile time and not at linking time.
0
arsen_lupen's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2006
Newbie Member
Yes, you are right. The incllude file can be and from the new SDK. Sorry for the mistake in the previous comment.