1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drop Down Menu

Discussion in 'JSP' started by siddharthrkulkarni, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,
    My name is Siddharth Kulkarni, learning jsp. I have problem on "How to create drop down menu in java server pages?". Its my request, if anyone knows this then please tell me solution. Thanking You.
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Drop down in JSP or you mean in HTML?
     
  3. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh....so this in html.....thnx....then how to create drop down menu in html?
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    As simple as

    HTML:
    <select name="SomeName">
    	<optgroup label="Site Areas">
    		<option value="opt1" >Option 1</option>
    		<option value="opt2" >Option 2</option>
    		<option value="opt3" >Option 3</option>
    		<option value="opt4" >Option 4</option>
    		<option value="opt5" >Option 5</option>
    		<option value="opt6" >Option 6</option>
    	</optgroup>
    </select>
    
     
  5. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, that was drop down list....but I want drop down menu....anyone help me!
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Can you explain what you meant by menu?

    Do you mean the one that comes here at G4Ef when you click on username of the post?
     
  7. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am new to this "Go4Expert"......I want drop down menu....that means if u just put cursor on that menu title then there should appear sub menu or menu items!
     
  8. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Drop Down Menu means Pop up Menu....is there anyone to help?
     
  9. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I got few bit on this....actually menu means list, but I want to create list looks like menu as created in many web sites....so please help me!!
     
  10. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Check the JS/CSS code on the site and grab it.
     
  11. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually I have done this, but its not working...I am missing some tags, can't find that tag!
    Anyway Thanks buddy!
     
  12. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Copy everything from that page and then try to see what code actually makes the menu what it is .
     
  13. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I said that I have done it, but its not working....only menu appears on web page, but it doesn't acts like drop down menu or pop up menu!
     
  14. siddharthrkulkarni

    siddharthrkulkarni New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok Guys!
    I got the solution!
    Thanks to be with me!
     
  15. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Great to see that and I am also writing an article on the same and will share it here.
     

Share This Page