1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dimming a large Statement....

Discussion in 'Visual Basic ( VB )' started by Ches, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. Ches

    Ches New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK So I'm in a small rut in one of my programs...... I don't know if it even can be done, but I'd like to know how to state coding in a massive dim........Such as like

    Dim BigIF as ????(<-What do I call this if it can be done/can it even be done in dim?)

    BigIF=If this0 then If this1 then If this2 then If this3 then If this4 then If this then Do this.

    In truth, It isn't neccessary(because i could just re-write the coding), it will just save me about 50 lines of coding.....
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I could not get what you are asking. Are you talking about the array of longs?
     
  3. Ches

    Ches New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK what I mean is to take a formula (such as: if y>1 and x<1 and z=1 then Q.caption="1")
    and dim it as a variable....Long(as far as I understand it) Won't allow me to use coding statements such as if/then/else....and thats what i need to use.........
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Still I am not sure but whatever condition you wish you can give? if y>1 and x<1 and z=1 then Q.caption="1" is very much possible.

    Also dimming inside the ifs is also possible.
     
  5. Ches

    Ches New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I Was just wondering what statement you should use to dim the total statements:[ if y>1 and x<1 and z=1 then Q.caption="1"] and call it by a name such as : Bob
    OK..I'll try to explain a little better....

    I want to say somethign like
    dim water as ?? (i don't know what its called)
    water= { if y>1 and x<1 and z=1 then Q.caption="1"}
    so i can use it like this....
    If label1="32" then Water
    and it will put the statement called "water" where the word ( "water" ) is used.....
     
  6. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Nope that is not possible in VB as far as I know but I am not a VB expert. What you are saying are something like macros in C++
     
  7. Ches

    Ches New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok thank you ......
    Another question i Have is .....
    I have an imagebox...I want you to have a list of options for what to do with this item(thats in the imagebox) come down when you right click(Which i'm assuming is the dblclikc option....)...How could i do that or something similar to it.....?


    Thanks


    *Ches
     
  8. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,283
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I am not sure what you mean by image box? Use a menu to give user the options to select something.
     
  9. riffz

    riffz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Are you saying that you want to use that long IF code constantly throughout your program? If so, put it in a private sub, then just call it when you want to use that code. So...

    Code:
    'declare sub
    private sub water()
    
    'put if code here
    if y>1 and x<1 and z=1 then Q.caption="1"
    
    end sub

    Then whenever you want to use that code, just call the sub:

    Code:
    call water()
     

Share This Page