Cry for help

Discussion in 'Ethical hacking' started by Helpless, Sep 20, 2009.

1. Helpless

Helpless Banned

Hi all, first of all please go easy on me as I'm a newbie here and I'm sure a similar problem to mine have been highlighted many times on this site.

Right now I'm not really interested in the "how and why" I was hacked but I am certainly curious as to the "who". All this started about a month ago when a friend of mine emailed me quoting an email address from someone who had emailed her asking what they knew about me. This email to my friend contained information about some of my other email correspondences and also about other people I had previously emailed on AOL. All of the information could only have been gleaned if someone had managed to get access to my emails.

My friend actually gave me the email address of this person who had written to her so I wrote them an email asking, who they were and why they were doing it? I also told them I would be notifying the authorities. Would you believe that this person actually wrote back saying "game on"? My initial thought was to change my AOL password immediately but alas most of the damage had already been done as they already had access to many of my contacts from my address book and had also read my emails. As if this wasn't enough, this person actually undertook to phoning some of my contacts (again these phone numbers could only have been taken from my email account) and making life very uncomfortable for them. Some of them have been so scared that they have actually had their numbers changed. Imagine the guilt I am feeling for having some of my best friends go through this turmoil.