Callling web page from php

lastmanse's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2011
Newbie Member
Does anyone know af an easy way to transfer control to an HTML page from within php code?
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Many type of transfer you can achieve. The easiest is the redirect to an html page.
lastmanse's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2011
Newbie Member
what is the format of the command to do that? I am brand new to php and can barely spell php...
lastmanse's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2011
Newbie Member
AHA - header command!
pein87's Avatar
Ambitious contributor
Technically speaking html doesn't do anything aside from mark up text and media to be presented on the web, css does the presentation and style, javascript does the dynamic content portion and php does the server side backend and data control. You could use ajax to do this and there exist multiple ways to do this which include 3 common methods all of which can be done via php. Theres outputting a meta refresh, javascript and the plan php redirect.

meta tag refresh

HTML Code:
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="600;url=www.mysite.com" />
javascript redirect

Code: JavaScript
<script type="text/javascript">
function redirect(loc,t,ts = "S")
{
if(ts == "M")
/* minutes add multiply by 1000 for minutes */
{
var pageShift = setTimeout(loc,t * 60000);
}
if(ts == "MS")
{
/* do nothing */
var pageShift = setTimeout(loc,t);
}
if(ts == "H")
{
/* use hours */
var pageShift = setTimeout(loc,t * 3600000);
}
if(ts == "S")
{
/* seconds */
var pageShift = setTimeout(loc,t * 1000);
}
}
</script>

php header

PHP Code:
<?php
function redirect($url)
{
return 
header("location: " $url);
}
redirect("http://www.mysite.com");
?>
the first two can be outputted via a php page using echo or print functions which would redirect to a standard html page, the second one would redirect one page load and function call. Hope this works for you

Last edited by pein87; 20Jun2011 at 04:12..
ManzZup's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
Skilled contributor
proabably javascript is your choice because php cannot handle anything once it is parsed
so you need JS + Ajax would be a good solution if it is dynamic

Last edited by ManzZup; 3Jul2011 at 20:52.. Reason: only a part was typed