shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by here's jonny
I thought that's what the examples above did !!
Is that not correct ?
you have multiple redirects from the non www to www and then to the new domain but I would do just a single redirect.

For your second post I would suggest you not redirecting that because its not what people can do that you should stop but what people may do that you should stop.

You can always use 100's of urls for the same page just adding an extra bit of param and I guess thats intentional and you should not worry about that. What you should worry about is if someone by mistake does not add the www it should redirect.

Like say you can get to go4expert.com www.go4expert.com and both have redirected but you can always get also with the index.php and if you do that its intentional and I dont think I need to stop that because no one on earth is going to link to that naturally. Again you can go on adding the params to the index.php file always.
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Also I guess you should know why redirects. The aim is to give the backlinks concentrate on a single domain / sub domain.
here's jonny's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2007
Go4Expert Member
I understand what you are saying , but not how to do it

how do I get domain.co.uk AND www. domain.co.uk -> www.domain.com

And make sure domain.com always goes to www.domain.com ??

One thing that is worth mentioning is domain.co.uk is hosted by the same ISP, but will have its' own .htaccess as it has it's own file structure.

Thanks
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
You probably did not read the link I posted in the previous posts.
Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?old-domain\.co.uk$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.new-domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]
This will go in the .htaccess file of the old - domain.
Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^(www\.|$) [NC]
RewriteRule ^ http://www.%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]
This in the new domain. Both the codes are in the sticky thread and would have solved your problem quite some time back.
here's jonny's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2007
Go4Expert Member
Shabbir.

Thanks
here's jonny's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2007
Go4Expert Member
I've now managed to get one domain to successfully redirect from (www.)xxx.co.uk to www.xxx.com address. (this is a downloads section)

I've also got the subdomain.xxx.(.co.uk) to redirect to subdomain.xxx.(com) (this is a domain I don't use, but other users do)

Last thing I need to do..:

My main site is located in another subdomain ! AND the main .com is sharing the same files and directory structure.. So I can't globally add www as this will mess up the subdomain.

ie: subdomain.xxx.co.uk would become www.subdomain.co.uk

So how do I just add www to the xxx.com domain ? ?
here's jonny's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2007
Go4Expert Member
Whoops hit reply - not preview...and can't see an edit option..

Quote:
I've now managed to get one domain to successfully redirect from (www.)xxx.co.uk to www.xxx.com address. (this is a downloads section)

I've also got the subdomain.xxx.(.co.uk) to redirect to subdomain.xxx.(com) (this is a domain I don't use, but other users do)
Should have read:
I've now managed to get one domain to successfully redirect from (www.)xxx.co.uk to www.xxx.com address. (this is a domain I don't use, but other users do)

I've also got the subdomain.xxx.(.co.uk) to redirect to subdomain.xxx.(com) (this is a downloads section)

Quote:
ie: subdomain.xxx.co.uk would become www.subdomain.co.uk
Should have read ie: subdomain.xxx.co.uk would become www.subdomain.xxx.co.uk

Last bit
I need to force www to be added to xxx.com and I'll need at some point in the future to redirect from the main sites subdomain.xxx.co.uk to www.xxx.com (bearing in mind the files are all shared between this subdomain and xxx.com)

Many Thanks for your continues patience !
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Still I dont see any reason why you are not going through that link. If you dont read the posts there is no point in posting them.

as a reference I will again quote from that thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEO FAQ's
Why does my website have a higher PR with the 'www' then without it?
As a part of the answer it has To go from the 'www' to non 'www' use this code and now non www can be changed to any subdomain.
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Offtopic comment:
By the way I just realized you were linking to a an adult content domain. xxx.
here's jonny's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2007
Go4Expert Member
shabbir - I will reread the FAQ.

The domain xxx.com was an example - never thought it might be an adult site