1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

Connection Timed Out

Discussion in 'Help and Support' started by SaswatPadhi, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Why do I keep getting "Connection Timed Out" error continuously for a couple of days, ONLY on go4expert.com ???

    It's really annoying .. :(

    I'm using FF, btw.
     
  2. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Now, is this happening to others too, or am I the only unlucky one here ?? 99% times I get connection timed out error on G4EF (since the last couple of days).
     
  3. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Not for me :D
     
  4. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry:

    WTF ?!? Why do I keep getting this "Connection has timed out" :( :mad:
     
  5. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    May be your Internet has some problem. I would suggest you ping go4expert.com

    Code:
    ping go4expert.com -t
    in your command prompt window and see if it works fine all the time or if it breaks as well when you get a connection timeout
     
  6. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    I had already tried that. Worked fine.
    So I thought may be I have some problem with my FF. Tried with another PC -- same !!

    Then I installed Opera 9.64 and everything is fine now :) :)
    I will work with Opera till I find what's wrong with my FF.

    But, I really fail to understand, why FF showed the error only on G4EF and NOT on ANY other site ?!?

    Anyway ..
     
  7. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    May be there is something in your connection or any FF plugins which fetches some Data about G4EF like alexa or something that is causing the delay.
     
  8. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    I also thought that it might be due to some plugin etc.., but as I mentioned in my previous post, "Tried with another PC -- same !!".

    Anyway, the problem seems to be gone now !! :) :) :)

    Still no clue, why it existed and how it vanished all of a sudden !!! I didn't install/remove any FF plug-ins during the last couple of says. ( I have XP/XP dual boot and I use only one of them for testing FF plugins and things like that. )


    Thanx for the time you spared for me, shabbir.
     
  9. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The pleasure is all mine but as we did not see any body else participating in this thread the problem was with you only because last time the problem was with DNS where many of us faced it.
     
  10. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    OK. I think I figured out a solution.

    I studied the result of the ping and found :

    Code:
    Pinging go4expert.com [174.133.80.67] with 32 bytes of data:
    
    Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=389ms TTL=54
    Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=390ms TTL=54
    Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=390ms TTL=54
    Reply from 174.133.80.67: bytes=32 time=390ms TTL=54
    
    Ping statistics for 174.133.80.67:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 389ms, [B][COLOR="Red"]Maximum = 390ms[/COLOR][/B], [B]Average = 389ms[/B]
    So, the average round-trip time is 389 ms.
    Then I checked my FF's timeout limit, as I guessed -- it was 300 ms !!!! :eek:

    So, there was the problem. (perhaps)
    And, now no timeouts any more ! :happy:
     
  11. naimish

    naimish New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    On Earth
    Try using IE ;)
     
  12. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Then for yahoo also you should get a timeout error as it takes very close to 300 seconds only
     
  13. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    Yeah, Yahoo takes avg 390ms .. but does not show that error. :confused:

    [[ I will still keep digging into this matter. ]]
     

Share This Page