0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Just write the set of if's and then Response.Redirect to the correct page unless you have some definite logic for the redirection.
0
biztalk's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2008
Newbie Member
So you mean like this

Normal
'If remember me selected
if RememberMe = "ON" then
'Writing cookies permanently
Response.Cookies("UserName")=UserName
Response.Cookies("Password")=Password
Response.Cookies("UserName").Expires = Now() + 365
Response.Cookies("Password").Expires = Now() + 365
Response.Redirect "welcome.asp"
else
'writing cookies temporarily
Response.Cookies("UserName")=UserName
Response.Cookies("Password")=Password
Response.Redirect "welcome.asp"
end if

My version
'If remember me selected
if RememberMe = "ON" then
'Writing cookies permanently
Response.Cookies("UserName")=test
Response.Cookies("Password")=test
Response.Cookies("UserName").Expires = Now() + 365
Response.Cookies("Password").Expires = Now() + 365
Response.Redirect "test.asp"
else
'writing cookies temporarily
Response.Cookies("UserName")=test
Response.Cookies("Password")=test
Response.Redirect "test.asp"
end if
0
nednilbor's Avatar
Newbie Member
do you have any sample code for the signup.asp so that new users could sign up?
0
carrathanatos's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2008
Newbie Member
Hey, I copy and pasted your code over and created the database with microsoft access, and I keep getting this error:

HTTP 500.100 - Internal Server Error - ASP error
Internet Information Services

Technical Information (for support personnel)

* Error Type:
Microsoft JET Database Engine (0x80040E10)
No value given for one or more required parameters.
/news/verify.asp, line 37

* Browser Type:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0

* Page:
POST 45 bytes to /news/verify.asp

I'm not sure why either...

thanks for your help,

melissa
0
carrathanatos's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2008
Newbie Member
biztalk:

make an extra field in the DB for each user called something like "redirectPage" or something, and then for the redirect where it says:

Response.Redirect "blah blah blah", replace with:

Set rsStudent = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset") 'this should go near the top of your code
Response.Redirect rsStudent("redirectPage")

and then at the end be sure to put:

rsStudent.Close
set rsStudent = Nothing

hope that helps!
0
carrathanatos's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2008
Newbie Member
(the ifs are too messy, and it's much easier to just include it in our DB.)
0
kseanng's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2008
Newbie Member
Hey guys,

I got this error message.

The page cannot be displayed
There is a problem with the page you are trying to reach and it cannot be displayed.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

Open the fica home page, and then look for links to the information you want.
HTTP 500.100 - Internal Server Error - ASP error
Internet Information Services

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Technical Information (for support personnel)

Error Type:
Microsoft JET Database Engine (0x80040E10)
No value given for one or more required parameters.
/verify.asp, line 38


Browser Type:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30)

Page:
POST 36 bytes to /verify.asp

POST Data:
username=????&password=????&B1=LogIn

Time:
Thursday, July 03, 2008, 10:03:38 AM


More information:
Microsoft Support
0
carrathanatos's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2008
Newbie Member
If you're suffering the same problem as me, the closest I've been able to get to a pseudo-solution is that the actual CDONTS/CDOSYS cannot send the mail out because the port is being blocked by a firewall of some sort, or that the settings on the server won't allow mail to be sent out.

I don't have a system admin because they won't hire one, so I'm kind of stuck in cold water.

I hope you solve yours though....

oh, just to clarify, if you're having the same problem as me, then it's not a code problem, it's a server problem.
0
XXxxImmortalxxXX's Avatar
Invasive contributor
got a question im looking for some scripts.

A sql detection script created in asp

a script to do a forgot password link


if any of you guys know one can u please post it thanks

Last edited by XXxxImmortalxxXX; 7Jul2008 at 22:14..
0
kseanng's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2008
Newbie Member
carrathanatos,

I figured out what was wrong with my code. In access database I named the column wrong. Here's a link. I hope this helps. http://www.adopenstatic.com/faq80040e10.asp