shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimnhat
Hi Shabbir,

My bad. I were missing some code that why it not works. Now it works fine. Thanks alot.
My pleasure.
archu's Avatar
Light Poster
Hi shabeer,

I have a problem. I have designed a form which takes the details from the user and stores in a database. till storing i was not finding any problem. Now i am giving edit / update for the same form. I want to assign values to the each feild , which is already available in the database. I know how to assign for a text box. but i am finding difficulty in case of a radiobutton/ check box/ list. Pls help me know.

Thanks in advance
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
For check box / radio button there is a value attribute which will be set if that is selected and you can determine which one is selected provided you have unique values for each and then you can update the database accordingly.
hello's Avatar, Join Date: May 2007
Newbie Member
Hi I am new here. I am making forum and there i want login page first before view yhe forum and i am making this project in asp.net with c# so can anyone tell me how can i do this and one thing mor i am working with master page so also explain how can i make this in master page

Thanks in advance
Pedes69's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2007
Newbie Member
Dear shabbir,

Your code is working perfect, thank you for sharing this.

But i have a question.

I would like to direct diffent users to diffent pages.
Like this:
-> User A has to redirect to page welcome1.asp
-> User B has to redirect to page welcome2.asp
-> User C has to redirect to page welcome3.asp
-> User D has to redirect to page welcome1.asp
and so on...

Can you tell me how to implement this in you code.

Thank you very much
Peter
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Just redirect after validating. You need to check the type of user which is also fetched when validating the user and then use the ASP's redirect function.
cybermarc's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2008
Newbie Member
I want to keep my database in a separate folder but the script won't work.

connStr = connStr + server.MapPath("/private/mrecords.mdb")

anything wrong with this?
mendir200's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2008
Newbie Member
Hey Shabbir, great code!!

I implemented it to check a MS Access field for an email address. The problem is I set it up so that if a user accidentally types in the wrong address, they are re-directed to a page that allows them to re-enter the address again. If they re-enter the correct Email from that page, they get this message: “ADODB.Recordset error '800a0e78' Operation is not allowed when the object is closed”.


I looked into the problem and I believe it is a syntax issue, ref: http://databases.aspfaq.com/database...look-like.html

Thanks so much!
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Yes its a syntax issue and you need to have the Recordset open to execute the SQL.
biztalk's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2008
Newbie Member
I would also like to do I would like to direct diffent users to diffent pages.
Like this:
-> User A has to redirect to page welcome1.asp
-> User B has to redirect to page welcome2.asp
-> User C has to redirect to page welcome3.asp
-> User D has to redirect to page welcome1.asp
and so on...

Is it possbile for you to give the code for this?