1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

Optimize Hard Disk When Idle

Discussion in 'Ethical hacking Tips' started by pradeep, Dec 6, 2005.

  1. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    Note: This tweak only works on Windows XP/.NET.

    Description:

    This setting will rearrange files on the hard drive when the computer is idle thus improving the performance of the system.

    Steps:
    1. Open your registry by clicking on Start > Run > Type: "regedit" and find or create the key below.
    2. Create a new DWORD value, or modify the existing value, called "EnableAutoLayout" and set it according to the value data below.

    Code:
    System Key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\OptimalLayout]
       Value Name: EnableAutoLayout
       Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
       Value Data: (0 = disabled, 1 = enabled)
    3. Exit your registry, you may need to restart or log out of Windows for the change to take effect.
     
  2. kash

    kash New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello ,thanks for the information.But when i tried to modify the or insert the new value to "Vue Date"(ie i have given the value as( 0 = disabled, 1 = enabled)) it is showing invalid value.why it is do and what is the solution and i did not find any improvement in the system performance.can u help.........i mean give the solution...
     
  3. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    Hi Kash,
    You have to creat a DWORD value not any other, which I think is the case with you.
     
  4. kash

    kash New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello pradeep,
    i have created the DWORD and inserted the values given by u(i mean the one u have posted).But when i modifeid the default value data(default value was given as 0X000000 something...)i have inserted 0 = disabled, 1 = enabled it showed invalid values.
     
  5. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    Oh! Now I got you, you have enter only 1 and not 1 = enabled.Got it??
     
  6. kash

    kash New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have entered 0 = disabled, 1 = enabled and not 1 and 0 only.....
     
  7. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    I got that, thats why the previous post.
    Just enter either 1 or 0.
    1 is for enabled and 0 is for disabled.
     
  8. kash

    kash New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1 means wat it will enable and 0 means what it will disable.which is better and which one shall i enter.
     
  9. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    Enter 1
     
  10. kash

    kash New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi pradeep,
    thanks a lot for the help.i want to be ur friend.if u like me u can add me to ur mesenger list.my id is xx_kash@yahoo.com or agnag9@hotmail.com.
    till then bye
     
  11. ReekenX

    ReekenX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Home Page:
    I dont get it... :( I dont understand it...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2007
  12. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
  13. hanleyhansen

    hanleyhansen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Drupal Developer/LAMP Developer
    Location:
    Clifton
    Home Page:
    Interesting!! I'll try it out when I get home!!!
     

Share This Page