ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
what exactly is the problem I cant make out see if you can help me.
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssk1712 View Post
yes I tried putting a bracket into the code but still the same thing.I dont think its going to work.
Looks like there is some other issue on your end because the same code works fine with me.
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
Code:
<?php 

function createsessions($username,$password) 
{ 
    //Add additional member to Session array as per requirement 
    session_register(); 

    $_SESSION["gdusername"] = $username; 
    $_SESSION["gdpassword"] = md5($password); 
     
    if(isset($_POST['remme'])) 
    { 
        //Add additional member to cookie array as per requirement 
        setcookie("gdusername", $_SESSION['gdusername'], time()+60*60*24*100, "/"); 
        setcookie("gdpassword", $_SESSION['gdpassword'], time()+60*60*24*100, "/"); 
        return; 
    } 
} 

function clearsessionscookies() 
{ 
    unset($_SESSION['gdusername']); 
    unset($_SESSION['gdpassword']); 
     
    session_unset();     
    session_destroy();  

    setcookie ("gdusername", "",time()-60*60*24*100, "/"); 
    setcookie ("gdpassword", "",time()-60*60*24*100, "/"); 
} 

function confirmUser($username,$password) 
{ 
    // $md5pass = md5($password); // Not needed any more as pointed by ted_chou12 

    /* Validate from the database but as for now just demo username and password */ 
    if($username == "demo" && $password = "demo") 
        return true; 
    else 
        return false; 
} 

function checkLoggedin() 
{ 
    if(isset($_SESSION['gdusername']) AND isset($_SESSION['gdpassword'])) 
        return true; 
    elseif(isset($_COOKIE['gdusername']) && isset($_COOKIE['gdpassword'])) 
    { 
        if(confirmUser($_COOKIE['gdusername'],$_COOKIE['gdpassword'])) 
        { 
            createsessions($_COOKIE['gdusername'],$_COOKIE['gdpassword']); 
            return true; 
        } 
        else 
        { 
            clearsessionscookies(); 
            return false; 
        } 
    } 
    else 
        return false; 
} 
?>

index.php
PHP Code:
Code:
<?php 
ob_start(); 
session_start(); 

require_once ("functions.php"); 

if (checkLoggedin()) 
    echo "<H1>You are already logged in - <A href = \"login.php?do=logout\">logout</A></h1>"; 
else 
    echo "<H1>You are not logged in - <A href = \"login.php\">login</A></h1></h1>"; 
?>

login.php
PHP Code:
Code:
<?php 

ob_start(); 
session_start(); 

require_once ("functions.php"); 

$returnurl = urlencode(isset($_GET["returnurl"])?$_GET["returnurl"]:""); 
if($returnurl == "") 
    $returnurl = urlencode(isset($_POST["returnurl"])?$_POST["returnurl"]:""); 

$do = isset($_GET["do"])?$_GET["do"]:""; 

$do = strtolower($do); 

switch($do) 
{ 
case "": 
    if (checkLoggedin()) 
    { 
        echo "<H1>You are already logged in - <A href = \"login.php?do=logout\">logout</A></h1>"; 
    } 
    else 
    { 
        ?> 
        <form NAME="login1" ACTION="login.php?do=login" METHOD="POST" ONSUBMIT="return aValidator();"> 
        <input TYPE="hidden" name="returnurl" value="<?$returnurl?>"> 
        <TABLE cellspacing="3"> 
        <TR> 
            <TD>Username:</TD> 
            <TD><input TYPE="TEXT" NAME="username"></TD> 
            <TD>Password:</TD> 
            <TD><input TYPE="PASSWORD" NAME="password"></TD> 
        </TR> 
        <TR> 
            <TD colspan="4" ALIGN="center"><input TYPE="CHECKBOX" NAME="remme">&nbsp;Remember me for the next time I visit</TD> 
        </TR> 
        <TR> 
            <TD ALIGN="CENTER" COLSPAN="4"><input TYPE="SUBMIT" name="submit" value="Login"></TD> 
        </TR> 
        </form> 
        </TABLE> 
    <? 
    } 
    break; 
case "login": 
    $username = isset($_POST["username"])?$_POST["username"]:""; 
    $password = isset($_POST["password"])?$_POST["password"]:""; 

    if ($username=="" or $password=="" ) 
    { 
        echo "<h1>Username or password is blank</h1>"; 
        clearsessionscookies(); 
        header("location: login.php?returnurl=$returnurl"); 
    } 
    else 
    { 
        if(confirmuser($username,md5($password))) // As pointed out by asgard2005 
        { 
            createsessions($username,$password); 
            if ($returnurl<>"") 
                header("location: $returnurl"); 
            else 
            { 
                header("Location: index.php"); 
            } 
        } 
        else 
        { 
            echo "<h1>Invalid Username and/Or password</h1>"; 
            clearsessionscookies(); 
            header("location: login.php?returnurl=$returnurl"); 
        } 
    } 
    break; 
case "logout": 
    clearsessionscookies(); 
    header("location: index.php"); 
    break; 
} 
?>

Last edited by shabbir; 26Jun2010 at 16:44.. Reason: Code blocks
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
this the code your about right?i checked it.
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
this is the code your talking about right?i checked it.
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
are you there?
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
there is no error nor any output now.i modified the code bit.can you check and let me known.reply.
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
Code:
<html x>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Sessions Cookies</title>
</head>

<body>
<?php
//if (!isset($_GET['subpage'])) {   
  //if (isset($_GET['error']) && $_GET['error'] == '1') {   
  //?>
<!--<font color="#FF0000"><b>ERROR: </b>Invalid username and/or password. Please try again.</font> -->
 <? //} ?>
<form method="post" action="login.php" >
Username:<br />
<input type="text" name="username" maxlength="50">
<br /><br />
Password:<br />
<input type="password" name="password" maxlength="50">
<br /><br />
<input type="submit" name="login" value="Login">
</form>
</body>
</html>
<?php
//}
 //else if (isset($_GET['subpage']) && $_GET['subpage'] == 'login') 
 {   
  $user_name = "root"; 
  $password = "";   
  $database = "members1";   
  $server = "127.0.0.1";   
 
 $db_handle = mysql_connect($server, $user_name, $password);   
  $db_found = mysql_select_db($database, $db_handle);
   
 
  $user = $_POST['username'];  
  $pass = $_POST['password'];   
  $db_found = mysql_select_db($database, $db_handle);

if ($db_found) {

$SQL = "select * from users where user='$user' AND pass='$pass'";
$result = mysql_query($SQL);

 // $usercheck2 = mysql_query("select * from users where user='$user' AND pass='$pass'"); 
  //$usercheck = mysql_num_rows($SQL);  
  if ($usercheck > '0') {
    setcookie("user", $user, time()+60*60*24*30, "/", ".yoursite.com", 0);  
    setcookie("pass", $pass, time()+60*60*24*30, "/", ".yoursite.com", 0); 
    header("Location: index.php");  
  } else {
    //header("Location: login.php?error=1");  
  }
 // mysql_close(); 
 } 
}
?>

Last edited by shabbir; 26Jun2010 at 16:45.. Reason: Code blocks
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssk1712 View Post
this is the code your talking about right?i checked it.
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssk1712 View Post
are you there?
This is not chat but a forum and that means you would not see me online but sooner or later I would reply and please maintain the decorum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssk1712 View Post
there is no error nor any output now.i modified the code bit.can you check and let me known.reply.
You have done lot of things like db connectivity and other things but let me know what you want to know.
ssk1712's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2010
Go4Expert Member
sorry for the mistake,no thanks I can handle it now.Thanks for help.