0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibraheempindi
i have both of them, one contained the project source while other contains the binary, but there is no sample exe's to use as source and dest on which it will work......
You can keep the exe and its copy and then run the application with the source file as some notepad and the destination one as the copy exe and then it will update the copy exe correctly. It will work on exe which has only one Icon embedded.
0
ibraheempindi's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
yeah...that's why may be its not working with mine ones...but in prof products its rare to hve one icon, and each icon have several images, i'm trying to update one, and playing around with it, but it merges some images of an ico file from destination and some from source in the same ico file.....is it posb to make it work for multiple icon embeded application and to update an ico resource with multiple images in it....thanks for your time
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
The code can always be updated to change all the icons. I have given here how to do it (a prototype) and it can always be extended. Isn't it?
0
ibraheempindi's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
hmmm..i think soo....by changing these two params,
one is the 3rd param of updateresource and other is FindResource 2nd param in source exe, you can browse arount the images placed in that ico file, and replace as you wish them to be, so its working now, but could you give me some hints that instead of source exe, if i have to load an *.ico image file and then replace the resource in the desitnation exe...how it would be...thanks and have a nice day
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Read through the comments and you will find that as well.
0
mudasir's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2007
Newbie Member
Dear Shabir
i have run ur code to change the icon of an exe file .But i change the icon of an exe file only once.next time u run this code nothing happens(until i restart my computer).in fact in output window a message is displayed which is

The therad 'win32 Thread' has exited with code 0 (0*0)
The program '[3628]' Exeupdate.exe Native ' has exited with code 0 (0*0)

will u plz guide me about this problem.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
I am unable to re-create your problem but it looks like the exe file you are trying to change is locked by some process and it may be the ExeUpdater which is used for first time. Check if that is the case.
0
mudasir's Avatar, Join Date: Oct 2007
Newbie Member
Let me explain
when i run this code then the icon of my exe file flushes once to new ion then again becoms the original icon.(e.g i want to change of msn.exe Icon with yahoo.exe Icon but msn icon again changes to msn Icon).
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudasir
Let me explain
when i run this code then the icon of my exe file flushes once to new ion then again becoms the original icon.(e.g i want to change of msn.exe Icon with yahoo.exe Icon but msn icon again changes to msn Icon).
Try seeing in resource hacker and see if it gets replaced by some icon / icon group and then MSN flushes and shows some other icon group in explorer.
0
parvez.yu's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2008
Ambitious contributor
i tried it is so nice